Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 8 Apr 2019 11:08:58 -0700
From: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...omium.org>
To: Christopher Lameter <cl@...ux.com>
Cc: Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, 
	Kristen Carlson Accardi <kristen@...ux.intel.com>, Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>, 
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>, 
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, "the arch/x86 maintainers" <x86@...nel.org>, Dennis Zhou <dennis@...nel.org>, 
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>, Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>, 
	Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>, Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@...nel.org>, 
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>, Andi Kleen <ak@...ux.intel.com>, 
	"Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>, Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>, 
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>, Stephen Rothwell <sfr@...b.auug.org.au>, 
	Cao jin <caoj.fnst@...fujitsu.com>, Brijesh Singh <brijesh.singh@....com>, 
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>, Joerg Roedel <jroedel@...e.de>, 
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, 
	Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>, LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, 
	xen-devel <xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 14/27] x86/percpu: Adapt percpu for PIE support

On Mon, Apr 8, 2019 at 10:56 AM Christopher Lameter <cl@...ux.com> wrote:
>
> On Mon, 8 Apr 2019, Thomas Garnier wrote:
>
> > > It didn't work originally but I will revisit to see if I missed something.
> >
> > I revisited and couldn't find a way to prevent relocations to the
> > percpu section. Without PIE, you can reference absolute address which
> > was convenient for percpu.
>
> Can you switch PIE off for the percpu section? If not maybe the linker
> needs to have an additional option?

I don't think so or I didn't find any option to do that. Changing the
linker might be a bit too much if we have a software solution which
doesn't impact performance.

>
> Cannot imagine that this is not possible. You neeed to be able to
> reference registers that are in fixed memory locations.
>
>
> > Christopher: Did you have something specific in mind?
>
> I thought that we just leave it as is.

I would like to as well. I will try couple things at the assembly
level instead of the linker and come back to this thread.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.