Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu, 6 Dec 2018 20:23:20 +0100
From: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>
To: Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>, Rick Edgecombe <rick.p.edgecombe@...el.com>, 
	Nadav Amit <nadav.amit@...il.com>, 
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>, 
	Jessica Yu <jeyu@...nel.org>, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>, 
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>, Linux-MM <linux-mm@...ck.org>, Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>, 
	"Dock, Deneen T" <deneen.t.dock@...el.com>, Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>, kristen@...ux.intel.com, 
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, 
	anil.s.keshavamurthy@...el.com, 
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, 
	Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>, naveen.n.rao@...ux.vnet.ibm.com, 
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>, "<netdev@...r.kernel.org>" <netdev@...r.kernel.org>, 
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...el.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/2] vmalloc: New flag for flush before releasing pages

On Thu, 6 Dec 2018 at 20:21, Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org> wrote:
>
> On Thu, Dec 6, 2018 at 11:04 AM Ard Biesheuvel
> <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org> wrote:
> >
> > On Thu, 6 Dec 2018 at 19:54, Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org> wrote:
> > >
>
> > > That’s not totally nuts. Do we ever have code that expects __va() to
> > > work on module data?  Perhaps crypto code trying to encrypt static
> > > data because our APIs don’t understand virtual addresses.  I guess if
> > > highmem is ever used for modules, then we should be fine.
> > >
> >
> > The crypto code shouldn't care, but I think it will probably break hibernate :-(
>
> How so?  Hibernate works (or at least should work) on x86 PAE, where
> __va doesn't work on module data, and, on x86, the direct map has some
> RO parts with where the module is, so hibernate can't be writing to
> the memory through the direct map with its final permissions.

On arm64 at least, hibernate reads the contents of memory via the
linear mapping. Not sure about other arches.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.