Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Sat, 1 Dec 2018 01:01:29 +0300
From: Alexander Popov <alex.popov@...ux.com>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Cc: Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>,
 Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>, Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
 Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
 Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
 Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>, Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
 Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>, Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>,
 Richard Sandiford <richard.sandiford@....com>,
 Segher Boessenkool <segher@...nel.crashing.org>, amonakov@...ras.ru,
 Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.ws>, Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
 Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, Emese Revfy <re.emese@...il.com>,
 Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
 Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>, Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
 Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>, "H. Peter Anvin"
 <hpa@...or.com>, "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
 linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>, gcc@....gnu.org,
 LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/1] stackleak: Register the 'stackleak_cleanup' pass
 before the 'mach' pass

On 30.11.2018 20:12, Kees Cook wrote:
> On Fri, Nov 30, 2018 at 9:09 AM Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org> wrote:
>>
>> On Fri, Nov 30, 2018 at 5:20 AM Alexander Popov <alex.popov@...ux.com> wrote:
>>>
>>> Currently the 'stackleak_cleanup' pass deleting a CALL insn is executed
>>> after the 'reload' pass. That allows gcc to do some weird optimization in
>>> function prologues and epilogues, which are generated later [1].
>>>
>>> Let's avoid that by registering the 'stackleak_cleanup' pass before
>>> the 'mach' pass, which performs the machine dependent code transformations.
>>> It's the moment when the stack frame size is final and function prologues
>>> and epilogues are already generated.
>>>
>>> [1] https://www.openwall.com/lists/kernel-hardening/2018/11/23/2
>>>
>>> Reported-by: kbuild test robot <lkp@...el.com>
>>> Signed-off-by: Alexander Popov <alex.popov@...ux.com>
>>
>> Thanks, applied!
> 
> Eek, no, this is breaking my build badly:
> 
> *** WARNING *** there are active plugins, do not report this as a bug
> unless you can reproduce it without enabling any plugins.
> Event                            | Plugins
> PLUGIN_START_UNIT                | stackleak_plugin
> kernel/exit.c: In function ‘release_task’:
> kernel/exit.c:228:1: internal compiler error: Segmentation fault
>  }
> 
> Failing with:
> 
> gcc (Ubuntu 7.3.0-16ubuntu3) 7.3.0

Nice... I don't reproduce it with gcc-7.3 built from source.
I'll investigate this, return with details and we'll decide what to do.

Thanks,
Alexander

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.