Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu, 5 Jul 2018 12:35:33 +0200
From: Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>
To: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
Cc: Alexander Popov <alex.popov@...ux.com>,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, PaX Team <pageexec@...email.hu>,
	Brad Spengler <spender@...ecurity.net>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>, Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.ws>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
	Richard Sandiford <richard.sandiford@....com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	"H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
	"Dmitry V . Levin" <ldv@...linux.org>,
	Emese Revfy <re.emese@...il.com>, Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>,
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>,
	Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>, Josef Bacik <jbacik@...com>,
	Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
	Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>,
	Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
	"David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Ding Tianhong <dingtianhong@...wei.com>,
	David Woodhouse <dwmw@...zon.co.uk>,
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Dominik Brodowski <linux@...inikbrodowski.net>,
	Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@...el.com>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
	Mathias Krause <minipli@...glemail.com>,
	Vikas Shivappa <vikas.shivappa@...ux.intel.com>,
	Kyle Huey <me@...ehuey.com>,
	Dmitry Safonov <dsafonov@...tuozzo.com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
	Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>,
	Boris Lukashev <blukashev@...pervictus.com>,
	Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>, x86@...nel.org,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v13 (resend) 2/6] x86/entry: Add STACKLEAK erasing the
 kernel stack at the end of syscalls


* Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org> wrote:

> On Thu, Jul 05, 2018 at 10:12:37AM +0200, Ingo Molnar wrote:
> > * Alexander Popov <alex.popov@...ux.com> wrote:
> > > +static inline void stackleak_task_init(struct task_struct *task)
> > > +{
> > > +#ifdef CONFIG_GCC_PLUGIN_STACKLEAK
> > > +	task->lowest_stack = (unsigned long)end_of_stack(task) +
> > > +						sizeof(unsigned long);
> > > +#endif
> > 
> > Please don't break the line in such an ugly fashion - just keep the line long and 
> > ignore checkpatch, because the cure is worse than the disease.
> 
> FWIW I don't totally hate on:
> 
> 	task->lowest_stack =
> 		(unsigned long)end_of_stack(task) + sizeof(unsigned long);
> 
> which is a much more readable split.

Yeah, or rename 'task' to the regular 't' or 'p' and do:

	t->lowest_stack = (long)end_of_stack(t) + sizeof(long);

;-)

	Ingo

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.