Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu, 28 Jun 2018 18:48:37 +0300
From: Alexander Popov <alex.popov@...ux.com>
To: Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
 Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>,
 PaX Team <pageexec@...email.hu>, Brad Spengler <spender@...ecurity.net>,
 Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>, Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.ws>,
 Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
 Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
 Richard Sandiford <richard.sandiford@....com>,
 Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>, "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
 Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@...llo.nl>, "Dmitry V . Levin"
 <ldv@...linux.org>, Emese Revfy <re.emese@...il.com>,
 Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>, Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>,
 "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>,
 Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>,
 Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
 Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>, Josef Bacik <jbacik@...com>,
 Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>, Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>,
 Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>, "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
 Ding Tianhong <dingtianhong@...wei.com>, David Woodhouse
 <dwmw@...zon.co.uk>, Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
 Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
 Dominik Brodowski <linux@...inikbrodowski.net>,
 Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
 Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
 Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
 Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@...el.com>,
 Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
 Mathias Krause <minipli@...glemail.com>,
 Vikas Shivappa <vikas.shivappa@...ux.intel.com>, Kyle Huey
 <me@...ehuey.com>, Dmitry Safonov <dsafonov@...tuozzo.com>,
 Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
 Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>,
 Boris Lukashev <blukashev@...pervictus.com>,
 Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>, X86 ML <x86@...nel.org>,
 LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v13 0/6] Introduce the STACKLEAK feature and a test for it

Hello Ingo,

On 24.06.2018 10:18, Ingo Molnar wrote:
> 
> * Alexander Popov <alex.popov@...ux.com> wrote:
> 
>> On 22.06.2018 06:16, Ingo Molnar wrote:
>>>
>>> * Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org> wrote:
>>>
>>>> On Thu, Jun 21, 2018 at 7:07 PM, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org> wrote:
>>>>> It needs rebasing to -rc1 (which I've done already, but I'm still
>>>>> doing build tests on it).
>>>>
>>>> It's passed basic allmodconfig builds:
>>>>
>>>> tree: https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/kees/linux.git
>>>> branch: for-next/stackleak
>>>
>>> Ok, that's 6 patches - please send the latest for review as emails to lkml the 
>>> usual. Thanks!
>>
>> I'll resend the rebased v13 shortly.
> 
> Well, I assume there were v12->v13 changes, correct?
> 
> If yes, and if it's on a different base krnel, then why did you call it a 
> 'resend'? That will only get fewer people to review it ... Please don't do that 
> for future iterations.

Let me recall the timeline:
- I sent the v12 on May 16 [1];
- you gave a detailed feedback on v12 on May 18 [2];
- I fixed the series according to your feedback and sent v13 on May 26 [3];
- ... merge window for 4.18 is closed;
- I re-sent the rebased v13 on June 22 [4], because you asked to do so in this
thread. That's why I called it 'resend'.

May I ask for your feedback on v13?
Do you have any objections? Would you give your "Reviewed-by" or "Acked-by"?
Thanks in advance.

Best regards,
Alexander

[1]: http://www.openwall.com/lists/kernel-hardening/2018/05/16/1
[2]: http://www.openwall.com/lists/kernel-hardening/2018/05/18/2
[3]: http://www.openwall.com/lists/kernel-hardening/2018/05/26/6
[4]: http://www.openwall.com/lists/kernel-hardening/2018/06/22/8

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.