Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 2 May 2018 05:51:42 -0700
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>, 
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>, Alexander Popov <alex.popov@...ux.com>, 
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, PaX Team <pageexec@...email.hu>, 
	Brad Spengler <spender@...ecurity.net>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>, 
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>, Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.ws>, Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>, 
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>, 
	Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>, Richard Sandiford <richard.sandiford@....com>, 
	"H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@...llo.nl>, 
	"Dmitry V . Levin" <ldv@...linux.org>, Emese Revfy <re.emese@...il.com>, Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>, 
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>, 
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>, Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>, 
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>, Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>, Josef Bacik <jbacik@...com>, 
	Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>, Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>, 
	Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>, "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>, 
	Ding Tianhong <dingtianhong@...wei.com>, David Woodhouse <dwmw@...zon.co.uk>, 
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>, 
	Dominik Brodowski <linux@...inikbrodowski.net>, Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>, 
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>, Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@...el.com>, 
	Mathias Krause <minipli@...glemail.com>, Vikas Shivappa <vikas.shivappa@...ux.intel.com>, 
	Kyle Huey <me@...ehuey.com>, Dmitry Safonov <dsafonov@...tuozzo.com>, 
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>, 
	Boris Lukashev <blukashev@...pervictus.com>, X86 ML <x86@...nel.org>, 
	LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v11 2/6] x86/entry: Add STACKLEAK erasing the kernel stack
 at the end of syscalls

On Wed, May 2, 2018 at 5:39 AM, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de> wrote:
> On Wed, 2 May 2018, Kees Cook wrote:
>> On Wed, May 2, 2018 at 1:42 AM, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de> wrote:
>> > On Mon, 30 Apr 2018, Kees Cook wrote:
>> >
>> >> On Mon, Apr 23, 2018 at 9:23 PM, Dave Hansen
>> >> <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com> wrote:
>> >> > Hi Alexander,
>> >> >
>> >> > You can add:
>> >> >
>> >> > Reviewed-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>
>> >> >
>> >> > for this patch if you like.  I haven't taken a super close look at the
>> >> > rest, but this is certainly minimally invasive from my point of view for
>> >> > the entry code.  Thanks, again for reworking it.
>> >>
>> >> Thanks Dave!
>> >>
>> >> Given this improvement and your review, I'm going to start carrying
>> >> this for linux-next. Linus, if you're still opposed to this even after
>> >> the changes here in v11, please let us know. I'd rather hash things
>> >> out now instead of during a NAK in the 4.18 merge window. :)
>> >
>> > Kees, can we please route that x86/entry stuff through tip to avoid
>> > conflicts as there are other changes in that area on the horizon.
>>
>> Sure, let me figure out how best to split up the patches, since it
>> touch x86/entry, gcc-plugins, and lkdtm. Thanks!
>
> Are they independent or do they carry dependencies?

They carry dependencies, as it interacts with the gcc plugin (and
lkdtm). As I don't have other plugin changes for 4.18 queued, you
could take the whole series for x86/entry if you want? Otherwise I can
try to split out the x86 change so it's more self-contained.

-Kees

-- 
Kees Cook
Pixel Security

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.