Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 23 Apr 2018 18:03:51 -0700
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>
Cc: Alexander Popov <alex.popov@...ux.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>, 
	Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>, 
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, PaX Team <pageexec@...email.hu>, 
	Brad Spengler <spender@...ecurity.net>, Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>, 
	Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.ws>, Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, 
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>, 
	Richard Sandiford <richard.sandiford@....com>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>, 
	"H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@...llo.nl>, 
	"Dmitry V . Levin" <ldv@...linux.org>, Emese Revfy <re.emese@...il.com>, Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>, 
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>, 
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>, Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>, 
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>, Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>, Josef Bacik <jbacik@...com>, 
	Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>, Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>, 
	Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>, "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>, 
	Ding Tianhong <dingtianhong@...wei.com>, David Woodhouse <dwmw@...zon.co.uk>, 
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>, 
	Dominik Brodowski <linux@...inikbrodowski.net>, Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>, 
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>, Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@...el.com>, 
	Mathias Krause <minipli@...glemail.com>, Vikas Shivappa <vikas.shivappa@...ux.intel.com>, 
	Kyle Huey <me@...ehuey.com>, Dmitry Safonov <dsafonov@...tuozzo.com>, 
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>, 
	Boris Lukashev <blukashev@...pervictus.com>, X86 ML <x86@...nel.org>, 
	LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v11 2/6] x86/entry: Add STACKLEAK erasing the kernel stack
 at the end of syscalls

On Wed, Apr 18, 2018 at 11:50 AM, Dave Hansen
<dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com> wrote:
> On 04/16/2018 11:29 AM, Kees Cook wrote:
>> Dave, Ingo, Linus: how does this look? With the assembly rewritten
>> into C, the entry changes are very small:
>
> The assembly looks very nice to me now.  It is as minimally invasive as
> it can get.  Definitely no objections from me on that part.

Can you give an Acked-by for the x86 parts? Or Ingo?

If this is workable, I'd like to carry it in -next to see if anything
else shakes out...

-Kees

-- 
Kees Cook
Pixel Security

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.