Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Sat, 17 Mar 2018 00:27:02 -0700
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>, Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>, 
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>, Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>, 
	Rasmus Villemoes <linux@...musvillemoes.dk>, Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>, 
	Miguel Ojeda <miguel.ojeda.sandonis@...il.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>, 
	David Laight <David.Laight@...lab.com>, Ian Abbott <abbotti@....co.uk>, 
	linux-input <linux-input@...r.kernel.org>, linux-btrfs <linux-btrfs@...r.kernel.org>, 
	Network Development <netdev@...r.kernel.org>, 
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, 
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v5 0/2] Remove false-positive VLAs when using max()

On Fri, Mar 16, 2018 at 12:27 PM, Linus Torvalds
<torvalds@...ux-foundation.org> wrote:
> Kees - is there some online "gcc-4.4 checker" somewhere? This does
> seem to work with my gcc. I actually tested some of those files you
> pointed at now.

Unfortunately my 4.4 test fails quickly:

./include/linux/jiffies.h: In function ‘jiffies_delta_to_clock_t’:
./include/linux/jiffies.h:444: error: first argument to
‘__builtin_choose_expr’ not a constant

static inline clock_t jiffies_delta_to_clock_t(long delta)
{
        return jiffies_to_clock_t(max(0L, delta));
}

I think this is the same problem of using __builtin_constant_p() in
4.4 that we hit earlier? :(

-Kees

-- 
Kees Cook
Pixel Security

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.