Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Sat, 17 Mar 2018 01:48:06 +0100
From: Miguel Ojeda <miguel.ojeda.sandonis@...il.com>
To: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>, Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>, 
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>, 
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>, Rasmus Villemoes <linux@...musvillemoes.dk>, 
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>, 
	David Laight <David.Laight@...lab.com>, Ian Abbott <abbotti@....co.uk>, 
	linux-input <linux-input@...r.kernel.org>, linux-btrfs <linux-btrfs@...r.kernel.org>, 
	Network Development <netdev@...r.kernel.org>, 
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, 
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v5 0/2] Remove false-positive VLAs when using max()

On Fri, Mar 16, 2018 at 9:14 PM, Linus Torvalds
<torvalds@...ux-foundation.org> wrote:
> On Fri, Mar 16, 2018 at 1:03 PM, Miguel Ojeda
> <miguel.ojeda.sandonis@...il.com> wrote:
>>>
>>> Kees - is there some online "gcc-4.4 checker" somewhere? This does
>>> seem to work with my gcc. I actually tested some of those files you
>>> pointed at now.
>>
>> I use this one:
>>
>>   https://godbolt.org/
>
> Well, my *test* code works on that one and -Wvla -Werror.
>
> It does not work with gcc-4.1.x, but works with gcc-4.4.x.
>
> I can't seem to see the errors any way, I wonder if
> __builtin_choose_expr() simply didn't exist back then.
>
> Odd that you can't view warnings/errors with it.

Just click on the button left/bottom of the compilation window.

Cheers,
Miguel

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.