Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 16 Mar 2018 20:18:03 +0000
From: Al Viro <viro@...IV.linux.org.uk>
To: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc: Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
	Rasmus Villemoes <linux@...musvillemoes.dk>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
	Miguel Ojeda <miguel.ojeda.sandonis@...il.com>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
	David Laight <David.Laight@...lab.com>,
	Ian Abbott <abbotti@....co.uk>,
	linux-input <linux-input@...r.kernel.org>,
	linux-btrfs <linux-btrfs@...r.kernel.org>,
	Network Development <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v5 0/2] Remove false-positive VLAs when using max()

On Fri, Mar 16, 2018 at 01:15:27PM -0700, Linus Torvalds wrote:
> On Fri, Mar 16, 2018 at 1:12 PM, Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk> wrote:
> >
> > That's C99, straight from N1256.pdf (C99-TC3)...
> 
> I checked C90, since the error is
> 
>    ISO C90 forbids variable length array
> 
> and I didn't see anything there.

Well, yes - VLA are new in C99; C90 never had those...

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.