Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 16 Mar 2018 17:55:02 +0000
From: Al Viro <viro@...IV.linux.org.uk>
To: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc: Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
	Rasmus Villemoes <linux@...musvillemoes.dk>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
	Miguel Ojeda <miguel.ojeda.sandonis@...il.com>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
	David Laight <David.Laight@...lab.com>,
	Ian Abbott <abbotti@....co.uk>,
	linux-input <linux-input@...r.kernel.org>,
	linux-btrfs <linux-btrfs@...r.kernel.org>,
	Network Development <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v5 0/2] Remove false-positive VLAs when using max()

On Fri, Mar 16, 2018 at 10:29:16AM -0700, Linus Torvalds wrote:
>    t.c: In function ‘test’:
>    t.c:6:6: error: argument to variable-length array is too large
> [-Werror=vla-larger-than=]
>      int array[(1,100)];
> 
> Gcc people are crazy.

That's not them, that's C standard regarding ICE.  1,100 is *not* a
constant expression as far as the standard is concerned, and that
type is actually a VLA with the size that can be optimized into
a compiler-calculated value.

Would you argue that in
void foo(char c)
{
	int a[(c<<1) + 10 - c + 2 - c];

a is not a VLA?  Sure, compiler probably would be able to reduce
that expression to 12, but demanding that to be recognized means
that compiler must do a bunch of optimizations in the middle of
typechecking.

expr, constant_expression is not a constant_expression.  And in
this particular case the standard is not insane - the only reason
for using that is typechecking and _that_ can be achieved without
violating 6.6p6:
	sizeof(expr,0) * 0 + ICE
*is* an integer constant expression, and it gives you exact same
typechecking.  So if somebody wants to play odd games, they can
do that just fine, without complicating the logics for compilers...

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.