Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Tue, 13 Mar 2018 13:59:34 -0700
From: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
To: Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>,
	"David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
	"H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Kate Stewart <kstewart@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
	Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@...b.com>,
	Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...hat.com>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>,
	Matthias Kaehlcke <mka@...omium.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@....com>,
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
	Dominik Brodowski <linux@...inikbrodowski.net>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>,
	Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>,
	Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
	Alok Kataria <akataria@...are.com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
	Dennis Zhou <dennisszhou@...il.com>,
	Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
	David Woodhouse <dwmw@...zon.co.uk>,
	Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@...il.com>,
	"Paul E . McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@...aro.org>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
	"Luis R . Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...nel.org>,
	Christopher Li <sparse@...isli.org>,
	Jason Baron <jbaron@...mai.com>,
	Ashish Kalra <ashish@...estacks.com>,
	Kyle McMartin <kyle@...hat.com>,
	Dou Liyang <douly.fnst@...fujitsu.com>,
	Lukas Wunner <lukas@...ner.de>,
	Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
	Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky.work@...il.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
	Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>,
	Cao jin <caoj.fnst@...fujitsu.com>,
	"H . J . Lu" <hjl.tools@...il.com>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@...hat.com>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@...tes.org>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
	Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
	Jia Zhang <qianyue.zj@...baba-inc.com>,
	Jiri Slaby <jslaby@...e.cz>,
	Kyle Huey <me@...ehuey.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
	Matthew Wilcox <mawilcox@...rosoft.com>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
	Rob Landley <rob@...dley.net>,
	Baoquan He <bhe@...hat.com>,
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,
	Jan H . Schönherr <jschoenh@...zon.de>
Cc: x86@...nel.org,
	linux-crypto@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-pm@...r.kernel.org,
	virtualization@...ts.linux-foundation.org,
	xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org,
	linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-sparse@...r.kernel.org,
	kvm@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-doc@...r.kernel.org,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: [PATCH v2 16/27] compiler: Option to add PROVIDE_HIDDEN replacement for weak symbols

Provide an option to have a PROVIDE_HIDDEN (linker script) entry for
each weak symbol. This option solve an error in x86_64 where the linker
optimizes pie generate code to be non-pie because --emit-relocs was used
instead of -pie (to reduce dynamic relocations).

Signed-off-by: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
---
 init/Kconfig            |  7 +++++++
 scripts/link-vmlinux.sh | 14 ++++++++++++++
 2 files changed, 21 insertions(+)

diff --git a/init/Kconfig b/init/Kconfig
index c924babc6d47..fe9f9ada4db0 100644
--- a/init/Kconfig
+++ b/init/Kconfig
@@ -1927,6 +1927,13 @@ config ASN1
 	  inform it as to what tags are to be expected in a stream and what
 	  functions to call on what tags.
 
+config WEAK_PROVIDE_HIDDEN
+	bool
+	help
+	  Generate linker script PROVIDE_HIDDEN entries for all weak symbols. It
+	  allows to prevent non-pie code being replaced by the linker if the
+	  emit-relocs option is used instead of pie (useful for x86_64 pie).
+
 source "kernel/Kconfig.locks"
 
 config ARCH_HAS_SYNC_CORE_BEFORE_USERMODE
diff --git a/scripts/link-vmlinux.sh b/scripts/link-vmlinux.sh
index 08ca08e9105c..c015f5142ecf 100755
--- a/scripts/link-vmlinux.sh
+++ b/scripts/link-vmlinux.sh
@@ -146,6 +146,17 @@ kallsyms()
 	${CC} ${aflags} -c -o ${2} ${afile}
 }
 
+gen_weak_provide_hidden()
+{
+        if [ -n "${CONFIG_WEAK_PROVIDE_HIDDEN}" ]; then
+                local pattern="s/^\s\+ w \(\w\+\)$/PROVIDE_HIDDEN(\1 = .);/gp"
+                echo -e "SECTIONS {\n. = _end;" > .tmp_vmlinux_hiddenld
+                ${NM} ${1} | sed -n "${pattern}" >> .tmp_vmlinux_hiddenld
+                echo "}" >> .tmp_vmlinux_hiddenld
+                LDFLAGS_vmlinux="${LDFLAGS_vmlinux} -T .tmp_vmlinux_hiddenld"
+        fi
+}
+
 # Create map file with all symbols from ${1}
 # See mksymap for additional details
 mksysmap()
@@ -230,6 +241,9 @@ modpost_link vmlinux.o
 # modpost vmlinux.o to check for section mismatches
 ${MAKE} -f "${srctree}/scripts/Makefile.modpost" vmlinux.o
 
+# Generate weak linker script
+gen_weak_provide_hidden vmlinux.o
+
 kallsymso=""
 kallsyms_vmlinux=""
 if [ -n "${CONFIG_KALLSYMS}" ]; then
-- 
2.16.2.660.g709887971b-goog

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.