Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Tue, 13 Mar 2018 10:42:51 +0100
From: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>
To: Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Lukas Wunner <lukas@...ner.de>, 
	Nandor Han <nandor.han@...com>, Semi Malinen <semi.malinen@...com>, 
	Patrice Chotard <patrice.chotard@...com>, 
	"open list:GPIO SUBSYSTEM" <linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org>, 
	"linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com, 
	Mathias Duckeck <m.duckeck@...bus.de>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/4] VLA removal from the GPIO subsystem

On Sat, Mar 10, 2018 at 1:10 AM, Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com> wrote:

> For those who haven't seen it, there's an effort to remove VLAs from the
> kernel so we can turn on -Wvla in the name of security. See
> https://lkml.org/lkml/2018/3/7/621 for more details and discussion.

OK I read up on it, I'm on board! Less is more.

> This is a series to remove a few VLAs from the gpio subsystem. These are
> compile tested only so I'd appreciate reviews and tests from
> maintainers. When these get Acked, I expect these to just go through the
> GPIO tree like usual.

Sure I will just queue it up with ACKs, or if I just think it looks nice
and reliable.

Thank you for doing this!

Yours,
Linus Walleij

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.