Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 12 Mar 2018 16:00:36 +0100
From: Rasmus Villemoes <linux@...musvillemoes.dk>
To: Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
 Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Cc: linux-gpio@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
 kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com, Lukas Wunner <lukas@...ner.de>,
 Mathias Duckeck <m.duckeck@...bus.de>, Nandor Han <nandor.han@...com>,
 Semi Malinen <semi.malinen@...com>, Patrice Chotard <patrice.chotard@...com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/4] gpio: Remove VLA from gpiolib

On 2018-03-10 01:10, Laura Abbott wrote:
>  		/* collect all inputs belonging to the same chip */
>  		first = i;
> -		memset(mask, 0, sizeof(mask));
> +		memset(mask, 0, sizeof(*mask));

see below

> @@ -2887,14 +2909,30 @@ void gpiod_set_array_value_complex(bool raw, bool can_sleep,
>  
>  	while (i < array_size) {
>  		struct gpio_chip *chip = desc_array[i]->gdev->chip;
> -		unsigned long mask[BITS_TO_LONGS(chip->ngpio)];
> -		unsigned long bits[BITS_TO_LONGS(chip->ngpio)];
> +		unsigned long *mask;
> +		unsigned long *bits;
>  		int count = 0;
>  
> +		mask = kmalloc_array(BITS_TO_LONGS(chip->ngpio),
> +				sizeof(*mask),
> +				can_sleep ? GFP_KERNEL : GFP_ATOMIC);
> +
> +		if (!mask)
> +			return;
> +
> +		bits = kmalloc_array(BITS_TO_LONGS(chip->ngpio),
> +				sizeof(*bits),
> +				can_sleep ? GFP_KERNEL : GFP_ATOMIC);
> +
> +		if (!bits) {
> +			kfree(mask);
> +			return;
> +		}
> +
>  		if (!can_sleep)
>  			WARN_ON(chip->can_sleep);
>  
> -		memset(mask, 0, sizeof(mask));
> +		memset(mask, 0, sizeof(*mask));

Hm, it seems you're now only clearing the first word of mask, not the
entire allocation. Why not just use kcalloc() instead of kmalloc_array
to have it automatically cleared?

Other random thoughts: maybe two allocations for each loop iteration is
a bit much. Maybe do a first pass over the array and collect the maximal
chip->ngpio, do the memory allocation and freeing outside the loop (then
you'd of course need to preserve the memset() with appropriate length
computed). And maybe even just do one allocation, making bits point at
the second half.

Does the set function need to be updated to return an int to be able to
inform the caller that memory allocation failed?

Rasmus

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.