Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu, 8 Mar 2018 23:12:10 +0100
From: Rasmus Villemoes <linux@...musvillemoes.dk>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>, Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>, 
	LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>, 
	"Gustavo A. R. Silva" <gustavo@...eddedor.com>, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>, Chris Mason <clm@...com>, 
	Josef Bacik <jbacik@...com>, David Sterba <dsterba@...e.com>, 
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>, Alexey Kuznetsov <kuznet@....inr.ac.ru>, 
	Hideaki YOSHIFUJI <yoshfuji@...ux-ipv6.org>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>, 
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>, 
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>, 
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>, Ian Abbott <abbotti@....co.uk>, 
	"Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>, Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky.work@...il.com>, 
	Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>, Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@...ux.intel.com>, 
	Pantelis Antoniou <pantelis.antoniou@...sulko.com>, Linux Btrfs <linux-btrfs@...r.kernel.org>, 
	Network Development <netdev@...r.kernel.org>, 
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/3] Remove accidental VLA usage

On 8 March 2018 at 21:39, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org> wrote:
> On Thu, Mar 8, 2018 at 11:57 AM, Rasmus Villemoes
> <linux@...musvillemoes.dk> wrote:
>> On 2018-03-08 16:02, Josh Poimboeuf wrote:
>>> On Wed, Mar 07, 2018 at 07:30:44PM -0800, Kees Cook wrote:
>>> +extern long __error_incompatible_types_in_min_macro;
>>> +extern long __error_incompatible_types_in_max_macro;
>>> +
>>> +#define __min(t1, t2, x, y)                                          \
>>> +     __builtin_choose_expr(__builtin_types_compatible_p(t1, t2),     \
>>> +                           (t1)(x) < (t2)(y) ? (t1)(x) : (t2)(y),    \
>>> +                           (t1)__error_incompatible_types_in_min_macro)
>>>
>>>  /**
>>>   * min - return minimum of two values of the same or compatible types
>>>   * @x: first value
>>>   * @y: second value
>>>   */
>>> -#define min(x, y)                                    \
>>> -     __min(typeof(x), typeof(y),                     \
>>> -           __UNIQUE_ID(min1_), __UNIQUE_ID(min2_),   \
>>> -           x, y)
>>> +#define min(x, y) __min(typeof(x), typeof(y), x, y)                  \
>>>
>>
>> But this introduces the the-chosen-one-of-x-and-y-gets-evaluated-twice
>> problem. Maybe we don't care? But until we get a
>> __builtin_assert_this_has_no_side_effects() I think that's a little
>> dangerous.
>
> Eek, yes, we can't do the double-eval. The proposed change breaks
> things badly. :)
>
> a:   20
> b:   40
> max(a++, b++): 40
> a:   21
> b:   41
>
> a:   20
> b:   40
> new_max(a++, b++): 41
> a:   21
> b:   42
>
> However, this works for me:
>
> #define __new_max(t1, t2, max1, max2, x, y)                    \
>        __builtin_choose_expr(__builtin_constant_p(x) && \
>                              __builtin_constant_p(y) && \
>                              __builtin_types_compatible_p(t1, t2),     \
>                              (t1)(x) > (t2)(y) ? (t1)(x) : (t2)(y),    \
>                              __max(t1, t2, max1, max2, x, y))
>
> #define new_max(x, y) \
>         __new_max(typeof(x), typeof(y),                 \
>               __UNIQUE_ID(max1_), __UNIQUE_ID(max2_),   \
>               x, y)

Yes, that would seem to do the trick.

Thinking out loud: do we really want or need the
__builtin_types_compatible condition when x and y are compile-time
constants? I think it would be nice to be able to use max(16,
sizeof(bla)) without having to cast either the literal or the sizeof.
Just omitting the type compatibility check might be dangerous, but
perhaps it could be relaxed to a check that both values are
representable in their common promoted type. Something like

(type_signed(t1) == type_signed(t2)) || ((t1)x >= 0 && (t2)y >= 0)

should be safe (if the types have same signedness, or the value of
signed type is positive), though it doesn't allow a few corner cases
(e.g. short vs. unsigned char is always ok due to promotion to int,
and also if the signed type is strictly wider than the unsigned type).

Rasmus

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.