Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Tue, 20 Feb 2018 15:33:49 -0800
From: Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Alexander Popov
 <alex.popov@...ux.com>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
 Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>
Cc: Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>,
 PaX Team <pageexec@...email.hu>, Brad Spengler <spender@...ecurity.net>,
 Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>, Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.ws>,
 Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
 Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
 "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@...llo.nl>,
 "Dmitry V . Levin" <ldv@...linux.org>, X86 ML <x86@...nel.org>,
 Mohamed Ghannam <simo.ghannam@...il.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH RFC v8 0/6] Introduce the STACKLEAK feature and a test for
 it

On 02/20/2018 03:17 PM, Kees Cook wrote:
> On Tue, Feb 20, 2018 at 2:29 AM, Alexander Popov <alex.popov@...ux.com> wrote:
>> On 16.02.2018 21:10, Alexander Popov wrote:
>>> This is the 8th version of the patch series introducing STACKLEAK to the
>>> mainline kernel. I've made some minor improvements while waiting for the
>>> next review by x86 maintainers.
> 
> If we can borrow some of luto or tglx's time, I think that'd be best:
> they've been looking at the entry code a lot lately. :) Regardless, I
> think the addition to the entry code is clean (especially now that the
> fast path is gone *sob*). :P
> 
>>> STACKLEAK is a security feature developed by Grsecurity/PaX (kudos to them),
>>> which:
>>>   - reduces the information that can be revealed through kernel stack leak bugs;
>>>   - blocks some uninitialized stack variable attacks (e.g. CVE-2010-2963);
>>>   - introduces some runtime checks for kernel stack overflow detection.
> 
> I've added this series to my kernel.org trees, which means 0-day will
> start grinding on it too now:
> https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/kees/linux.git
> kspp/gcc-plugin/stackleak
> 
> The LKDTM tests look great and check out for me. I think the code is
> clear, so I'd like to get it into -next, but I want to be sure I'm not
> stepping on x86 toes first.
> 
> Laura, how does arm64 look for this? Would it be possible to add it to
> this series (at least on kernel.org for build/run testing)?
> 

I fell behind on rebasing/testing so I need to bring it up to date.
Assuming the arm folks are okay with the approach, we can bring it
in for kernel.org testing once I'm finished.

Thanks,
Laura

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.