Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 12 Feb 2018 15:27:19 -0800
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: Igor Stoppa <igor.stoppa@...wei.com>
Cc: Boris Lukashev <blukashev@...pervictus.com>, Christopher Lameter <cl@...ux.com>, 
	Matthew Wilcox <willy@...radead.org>, Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>, 
	Jerome Glisse <jglisse@...hat.com>, Michal Hocko <mhocko@...nel.org>, 
	Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>, Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>, 
	linux-security-module <linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org>, Linux-MM <linux-mm@...ck.org>, 
	kernel list <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, 
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 4/6] Protectable Memory

On Sun, Feb 4, 2018 at 7:05 AM, Igor Stoppa <igor.stoppa@...wei.com> wrote:
> On 04/02/18 00:29, Boris Lukashev wrote:
>> On Sat, Feb 3, 2018 at 3:32 PM, Igor Stoppa <igor.stoppa@...wei.com> wrote:
>
> [...]
>
>>> What you are suggesting, if I have understood it correctly, is that,
>>> when the pool is protected, the addresses already given out, will become
>>> traps that get resolved through a lookup table that is built based on
>>> the content of each allocation.
>>>
>>> That seems to generate a lot of overhead, not to mention the fact that
>>> it might not play very well with the MMU.
>>
>> That is effectively what i'm suggesting - as a form of protection for
>> consumers against direct reads of data which may have been corrupted
>> by some irrelevant means. In the context of pmalloc, it would probably
>> be a separate type of ro+verified pool
> ok, that seems more like an extension though.
>
> ATM I am having problems gaining traction to get even the basic merged :-)
>
> I would consider this as a possibility for future work, unless it is
> said that it's necessary for pmalloc to be accepted ...

I would agree: let's get basic functionality in first. Both
verification and the physmap part can be done separately, IMO.

-Kees

-- 
Kees Cook
Pixel Security

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.