Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 10 Jan 2018 18:02:33 -0800
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	David Windsor <dave@...lcore.net>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>,
	Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	"Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@...cle.com>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@...ibm.com>,
	Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@...aro.org>,
	Dave Kleikamp <dave.kleikamp@...cle.com>,
	Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>,
	Luis de Bethencourt <luisbg@...nel.org>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>,
	Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
	Matthew Garrett <mjg59@...gle.com>,
	linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
	netdev@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-mm@...ck.org,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: [PATCH 01/38] usercopy: Remove pointer from overflow report

Using %p was already mostly useless in the usercopy overflow reports,
so this removes it entirely to avoid confusion now that %p-hashing
is enabled.

Fixes: ad67b74d2469d9b8 ("printk: hash addresses printed with %p")
Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
---
 mm/usercopy.c | 9 ++++-----
 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)

diff --git a/mm/usercopy.c b/mm/usercopy.c
index a9852b24715d..5df1e68d4585 100644
--- a/mm/usercopy.c
+++ b/mm/usercopy.c
@@ -58,12 +58,11 @@ static noinline int check_stack_object(const void *obj, unsigned long len)
 	return GOOD_STACK;
 }
 
-static void report_usercopy(const void *ptr, unsigned long len,
-			    bool to_user, const char *type)
+static void report_usercopy(unsigned long len, bool to_user, const char *type)
 {
-	pr_emerg("kernel memory %s attempt detected %s %p (%s) (%lu bytes)\n",
+	pr_emerg("kernel memory %s attempt detected %s '%s' (%lu bytes)\n",
 		to_user ? "exposure" : "overwrite",
-		to_user ? "from" : "to", ptr, type ? : "unknown", len);
+		to_user ? "from" : "to", type ? : "unknown", len);
 	/*
 	 * For greater effect, it would be nice to do do_group_exit(),
 	 * but BUG() actually hooks all the lock-breaking and per-arch
@@ -261,6 +260,6 @@ void __check_object_size(const void *ptr, unsigned long n, bool to_user)
 		return;
 
 report:
-	report_usercopy(ptr, n, to_user, err);
+	report_usercopy(n, to_user, err);
 }
 EXPORT_SYMBOL(__check_object_size);
-- 
2.7.4

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.