Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 10 Jan 2018 18:03:02 -0800
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	David Windsor <dave@...lcore.net>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>,
	Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	"Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@...cle.com>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@...ibm.com>,
	Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@...aro.org>,
	Dave Kleikamp <dave.kleikamp@...cle.com>,
	Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>,
	Luis de Bethencourt <luisbg@...nel.org>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>,
	Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
	Matthew Garrett <mjg59@...gle.com>,
	linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
	netdev@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-mm@...ck.org,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: [PATCH 30/38] fork: Define usercopy region in thread_stack slab caches

From: David Windsor <dave@...lcore.net>

In support of usercopy hardening, this patch defines a region in the
thread_stack slab caches in which userspace copy operations are allowed.
Since the entire thread_stack needs to be available to userspace, the
entire slab contents are whitelisted. Note that the slab-based thread
stack is only present on systems with THREAD_SIZE < PAGE_SIZE and
!CONFIG_VMAP_STACK.

cache object allocation:
    kernel/fork.c:
        alloc_thread_stack_node(...):
            return kmem_cache_alloc_node(thread_stack_cache, ...)

        dup_task_struct(...):
            ...
            stack = alloc_thread_stack_node(...)
            ...
            tsk->stack = stack;

        copy_process(...):
            ...
            dup_task_struct(...)

        _do_fork(...):
            ...
            copy_process(...)

This region is known as the slab cache's usercopy region. Slab caches
can now check that each dynamically sized copy operation involving
cache-managed memory falls entirely within the slab's usercopy region.

This patch is modified from Brad Spengler/PaX Team's PAX_USERCOPY
whitelisting code in the last public patch of grsecurity/PaX based on my
understanding of the code. Changes or omissions from the original code are
mine and don't reflect the original grsecurity/PaX code.

Signed-off-by: David Windsor <dave@...lcore.net>
[kees: adjust commit log, split patch, provide usage trace]
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>
Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>
---
 kernel/fork.c | 5 +++--
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/fork.c b/kernel/fork.c
index 82f2a0441d3b..0e086af148f2 100644
--- a/kernel/fork.c
+++ b/kernel/fork.c
@@ -282,8 +282,9 @@ static void free_thread_stack(struct task_struct *tsk)
 
 void thread_stack_cache_init(void)
 {
-	thread_stack_cache = kmem_cache_create("thread_stack", THREAD_SIZE,
-					      THREAD_SIZE, 0, NULL);
+	thread_stack_cache = kmem_cache_create_usercopy("thread_stack",
+					THREAD_SIZE, THREAD_SIZE, 0, 0,
+					THREAD_SIZE, NULL);
 	BUG_ON(thread_stack_cache == NULL);
 }
 # endif
-- 
2.7.4

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.