Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 10 Jan 2018 18:03:04 -0800
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
	x86@...nel.org,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
	Mathias Krause <minipli@...glemail.com>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	David Windsor <dave@...lcore.net>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>,
	Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	"Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@...cle.com>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@...ibm.com>,
	Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@...aro.org>,
	Dave Kleikamp <dave.kleikamp@...cle.com>,
	Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>,
	Luis de Bethencourt <luisbg@...nel.org>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>,
	Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
	Matthew Garrett <mjg59@...gle.com>,
	linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
	netdev@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-mm@...ck.org,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: [PATCH 32/38] x86: Implement thread_struct whitelist for hardened usercopy

This whitelists the FPU register state portion of the thread_struct for
copying to userspace, instead of the default entire struct.

Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>
Cc: x86@...nel.org
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>
Cc: Mathias Krause <minipli@...glemail.com>
Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>
---
 arch/x86/Kconfig                 | 1 +
 arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h | 8 ++++++++
 2 files changed, 9 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/x86/Kconfig b/arch/x86/Kconfig
index 8eed3f94bfc7..9ac4ac1a856b 100644
--- a/arch/x86/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/x86/Kconfig
@@ -116,6 +116,7 @@ config X86
 	select HAVE_ARCH_MMAP_RND_COMPAT_BITS	if MMU && COMPAT
 	select HAVE_ARCH_COMPAT_MMAP_BASES	if MMU && COMPAT
 	select HAVE_ARCH_SECCOMP_FILTER
+	select HAVE_ARCH_THREAD_STRUCT_WHITELIST
 	select HAVE_ARCH_TRACEHOOK
 	select HAVE_ARCH_TRANSPARENT_HUGEPAGE
 	select HAVE_ARCH_TRANSPARENT_HUGEPAGE_PUD if X86_64
diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h
index cc16fa882e3e..2b037b7fe0eb 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h
@@ -492,6 +492,14 @@ struct thread_struct {
 	 */
 };
 
+/* Whitelist the FPU state from the task_struct for hardened usercopy. */
+static inline void arch_thread_struct_whitelist(unsigned long *offset,
+						unsigned long *size)
+{
+	*offset = offsetof(struct thread_struct, fpu.state);
+	*size = fpu_kernel_xstate_size;
+}
+
 /*
  * Thread-synchronous status.
  *
-- 
2.7.4

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.