Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 10 Jan 2018 18:03:08 -0800
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
	Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@...hat.com>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	David Windsor <dave@...lcore.net>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>,
	Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	"Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@...cle.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@...ibm.com>,
	Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@...aro.org>,
	Dave Kleikamp <dave.kleikamp@...cle.com>,
	Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>,
	Luis de Bethencourt <luisbg@...nel.org>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>,
	Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
	Matthew Garrett <mjg59@...gle.com>,
	linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
	netdev@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-mm@...ck.org
Subject: [PATCH 36/38] kvm: x86: fix KVM_XEN_HVM_CONFIG ioctl

From: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>

This ioctl is obsolete (it was used by Xenner as far as I know) but
still let's not break it gratuitously...  Its handler is copying
directly into struct kvm.  Go through a bounce buffer instead, with
the added benefit that we can actually do something useful with the
flags argument---the previous code was exiting with -EINVAL but still
doing the copy.

This technically is a userspace ABI breakage, but since no one should be
using the ioctl, it's a good occasion to see if someone actually
complains.

Cc: kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Cc: Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@...hat.com>
Signed-off-by: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>
Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
---
 arch/x86/kvm/x86.c | 7 ++++---
 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/kvm/x86.c b/arch/x86/kvm/x86.c
index eee8e7faf1af..6c16461e3a86 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kvm/x86.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kvm/x86.c
@@ -4238,13 +4238,14 @@ long kvm_arch_vm_ioctl(struct file *filp,
 		mutex_unlock(&kvm->lock);
 		break;
 	case KVM_XEN_HVM_CONFIG: {
+		struct kvm_xen_hvm_config xhc;
 		r = -EFAULT;
-		if (copy_from_user(&kvm->arch.xen_hvm_config, argp,
-				   sizeof(struct kvm_xen_hvm_config)))
+		if (copy_from_user(&xhc, argp, sizeof(xhc)))
 			goto out;
 		r = -EINVAL;
-		if (kvm->arch.xen_hvm_config.flags)
+		if (xhc.flags)
 			goto out;
+		memcpy(&kvm->arch.xen_hvm_config, &xhc, sizeof(xhc));
 		r = 0;
 		break;
 	}
-- 
2.7.4

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.