Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 10 Jan 2018 18:02:55 -0800
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	David Windsor <dave@...lcore.net>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
	Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
	netdev@...r.kernel.org,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>,
	Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	"Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@...cle.com>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@...ibm.com>,
	Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@...aro.org>,
	Dave Kleikamp <dave.kleikamp@...cle.com>,
	Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>,
	Luis de Bethencourt <luisbg@...nel.org>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>,
	Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
	Matthew Garrett <mjg59@...gle.com>,
	linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-mm@...ck.org,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: [PATCH 23/38] net: Define usercopy region in struct proto slab cache

From: David Windsor <dave@...lcore.net>

In support of usercopy hardening, this patch defines a region in the
struct proto slab cache in which userspace copy operations are allowed.
Some protocols need to copy objects to/from userspace, and they can
declare the region via their proto structure with the new usersize and
useroffset fields. Initially, if no region is specified (usersize ==
0), the entire field is marked as whitelisted. This allows protocols
to be whitelisted in subsequent patches. Once all protocols have been
annotated, the full-whitelist default can be removed.

This region is known as the slab cache's usercopy region. Slab caches
can now check that each dynamically sized copy operation involving
cache-managed memory falls entirely within the slab's usercopy region.

This patch is modified from Brad Spengler/PaX Team's PAX_USERCOPY
whitelisting code in the last public patch of grsecurity/PaX based on my
understanding of the code. Changes or omissions from the original code are
mine and don't reflect the original grsecurity/PaX code.

Signed-off-by: David Windsor <dave@...lcore.net>
[kees: adjust commit log, split off per-proto patches]
[kees: add logic for by-default full-whitelist]
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>
Cc: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>
Cc: Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>
Cc: netdev@...r.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
---
 include/net/sock.h | 2 ++
 net/core/sock.c    | 6 +++++-
 2 files changed, 7 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/include/net/sock.h b/include/net/sock.h
index 79e1a2c7912c..b77a710ee831 100644
--- a/include/net/sock.h
+++ b/include/net/sock.h
@@ -1112,6 +1112,8 @@ struct proto {
 	struct kmem_cache	*slab;
 	unsigned int		obj_size;
 	slab_flags_t		slab_flags;
+	size_t			useroffset;	/* Usercopy region offset */
+	size_t			usersize;	/* Usercopy region size */
 
 	struct percpu_counter	*orphan_count;
 
diff --git a/net/core/sock.c b/net/core/sock.c
index c0b5b2f17412..261e6dbf0259 100644
--- a/net/core/sock.c
+++ b/net/core/sock.c
@@ -3151,8 +3151,12 @@ static int req_prot_init(const struct proto *prot)
 int proto_register(struct proto *prot, int alloc_slab)
 {
 	if (alloc_slab) {
-		prot->slab = kmem_cache_create(prot->name, prot->obj_size, 0,
+		prot->slab = kmem_cache_create_usercopy(prot->name,
+					prot->obj_size, 0,
 					SLAB_HWCACHE_ALIGN | prot->slab_flags,
+					prot->usersize ? prot->useroffset : 0,
+					prot->usersize ? prot->usersize
+						       : prot->obj_size,
 					NULL);
 
 		if (prot->slab == NULL) {
-- 
2.7.4

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.