Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 10 Jan 2018 18:02:43 -0800
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	David Windsor <dave@...lcore.net>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
	linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>,
	Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	"Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@...cle.com>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@...ibm.com>,
	Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@...aro.org>,
	Dave Kleikamp <dave.kleikamp@...cle.com>,
	Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>,
	Luis de Bethencourt <luisbg@...nel.org>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>,
	Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
	Matthew Garrett <mjg59@...gle.com>,
	linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
	netdev@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-mm@...ck.org,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: [PATCH 11/38] vfs: Define usercopy region in names_cache slab caches

From: David Windsor <dave@...lcore.net>

VFS pathnames are stored in the names_cache slab cache, either inline
or across an entire allocation entry (when approaching PATH_MAX). These
are copied to/from userspace, so they must be entirely whitelisted.

cache object allocation:
    include/linux/fs.h:
        #define __getname()    kmem_cache_alloc(names_cachep, GFP_KERNEL)

example usage trace:
    strncpy_from_user+0x4d/0x170
    getname_flags+0x6f/0x1f0
    user_path_at_empty+0x23/0x40
    do_mount+0x69/0xda0
    SyS_mount+0x83/0xd0

    fs/namei.c:
        getname_flags(...):
            ...
            result = __getname();
            ...
            kname = (char *)result->iname;
            result->name = kname;
            len = strncpy_from_user(kname, filename, EMBEDDED_NAME_MAX);
            ...
            if (unlikely(len == EMBEDDED_NAME_MAX)) {
                const size_t size = offsetof(struct filename, iname[1]);
                kname = (char *)result;

                result = kzalloc(size, GFP_KERNEL);
                ...
                result->name = kname;
                len = strncpy_from_user(kname, filename, PATH_MAX);

In support of usercopy hardening, this patch defines the entire cache
object in the names_cache slab cache as whitelisted, since it may entirely
hold name strings to be copied to/from userspace.

This patch is verbatim from Brad Spengler/PaX Team's PAX_USERCOPY
whitelisting code in the last public patch of grsecurity/PaX based on my
understanding of the code. Changes or omissions from the original code are
mine and don't reflect the original grsecurity/PaX code.

Signed-off-by: David Windsor <dave@...lcore.net>
[kees: adjust commit log, add usage trace]
Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
---
 fs/dcache.c | 4 ++--
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/fs/dcache.c b/fs/dcache.c
index 92ad7a2168e1..9d7ee2de682c 100644
--- a/fs/dcache.c
+++ b/fs/dcache.c
@@ -3640,8 +3640,8 @@ void __init vfs_caches_init_early(void)
 
 void __init vfs_caches_init(void)
 {
-	names_cachep = kmem_cache_create("names_cache", PATH_MAX, 0,
-			SLAB_HWCACHE_ALIGN|SLAB_PANIC, NULL);
+	names_cachep = kmem_cache_create_usercopy("names_cache", PATH_MAX, 0,
+			SLAB_HWCACHE_ALIGN|SLAB_PANIC, 0, PATH_MAX, NULL);
 
 	dcache_init();
 	inode_init();
-- 
2.7.4

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.