Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Tue, 19 Dec 2017 13:33:20 +0000
From: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, 
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, 
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>, Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>, x86@...nel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH] Kconfig: Make STRICT_DEVMEM default-y
 on x86 and arm64

On 1 December 2017 at 20:10, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org> wrote:
> Distros have been shipping with CONFIG_STRICT_DEVMEM=y for years now. It
> is probably time to flip this default for x86 and arm64.
>
> Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>

Acked-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>

> ---
>  lib/Kconfig.debug | 2 +-
>  1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
>
> diff --git a/lib/Kconfig.debug b/lib/Kconfig.debug
> index 947d3e2ed5c2..39b123d04a36 100644
> --- a/lib/Kconfig.debug
> +++ b/lib/Kconfig.debug
> @@ -1985,7 +1985,7 @@ config STRICT_DEVMEM
>         bool "Filter access to /dev/mem"
>         depends on MMU && DEVMEM
>         depends on ARCH_HAS_DEVMEM_IS_ALLOWED
> -       default y if TILE || PPC
> +       default y if TILE || PPC || X86 || ARM64
>         ---help---
>           If this option is disabled, you allow userspace (root) access to all
>           of memory, including kernel and userspace memory. Accidental
> --
> 2.7.4
>
>
> --
> Kees Cook
> Pixel Security

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.