Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 1 Dec 2017 15:15:26 +0900
From: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky.work@...il.com>
To: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky.work@...il.com>
Cc: David Laight <David.Laight@...LAB.COM>,
	'Andrew Morton' <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	"Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>,
	"kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com" <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	"Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@...c4.com>,
	Theodore Ts'o <tytso@....edu>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.ws>,
	"Roberts, William C" <william.c.roberts@...el.com>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	Jordan Glover <Golden_Miller83@...tonmail.ch>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>, Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>,
	Ian Campbell <ijc@...lion.org.uk>,
	Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Will Deacon <wilal.deacon@....com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Chris Fries <cfries@...gle.com>, Dave Weinstein <olorin@...gle.com>,
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,
	Djalal Harouni <tixxdz@...il.com>,
	Radim Krcm√°r <rkrcmar@...hat.com>,
	"linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Network Development <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
	David Miller <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Stephen Rothwell <sfr@...b.auug.org.au>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>,
	Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>,
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH V11 0/5] hash addresses printed with %p

On (11/30/17 19:26), Sergey Senozhatsky wrote:
> On (11/30/17 10:23), David Laight wrote:
> [..]
> > > Maybe I'm being thick, but...  if we're rendering these addresses
> > > unusable by hashing them, why not just print something like
> > > "<obscured>" in their place?  That loses the uniqueness thing but I
> > > wonder how valuable that is in practice?
> > 
> > My worry is that is you get a kernel 'oops' print with actual register
> > values you have no easy way of tying an address or address+offset to
> > the corresponding hash(address) printed elsewhere.
> 
> print the existing hash:pointer mappings in panic()? [if we can do that]

by this I meant
	"when oops_in_progress == 1 then print hash:pointer for %p,
	 not just hash".

	-ss

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.