Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 20 Nov 2017 16:39:46 +0100
From: Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>
To: kaiwan.billimoria@...il.com
Cc: "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>, kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
	"Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@...c4.com>,
	Theodore Ts'o <tytso@....edu>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ker.com>,
	"Roberts, William C" <william.c.roberts@...el.com>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	Jordan Glover <Golden_Miller83@...tonmail.ch>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>, Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>,
	Ian Campbell <ijc@...lion.org.uk>,
	Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Will Deacon <wilal.deacon@....com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Chris Fries <cfries@...gle.com>, Dave Weinstein <olorin@...gle.com>,
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,
	Djalal Harouni <tixxdz@...il.com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	Network Development <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
	David Miller <davem@...emloft.net>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4] scripts: add leaking_addresses.pl

On Mon 2017-11-13 11:16:28, kaiwan.billimoria@...il.com wrote:
> On Mon, 2017-11-13 at 09:21 +1100, Tobin C. Harding wrote:
> > On Fri, Nov 10, 2017 at 07:26:34PM +0530, kaiwan.billimoria@...il.com
> > >  - it currently hard-codes a global 'PAGE_OFFSET_32BIT=0xc0000000'
> > > , just
> > >  so I can test quickly; must figure whether to query it or pass it;
> > >  Suggestions?
> > 
> > Perhaps we should have a command line option for this.
> > 
> > 	--kernel-base-address
> 
> Why not just detect it programatically? We could devise a series of
> fallbacks; something like:
> - if .config exists in the kernel source tree root, grep it for
> PAGE_OFFSET
> - if not, grep the arch-specific (arch/<arch>/configs/<config-file>)
> for the same
> - if for some reason we don't have enough info regarding specific
> platform and thus the defconfig filename (could happen for ARM, PPC?),
> we then fail and request the user to pass it as a parameter.

You might also check /proc/config.gz.

Best Regards,
Petr

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.