Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu, 9 Nov 2017 08:16:08 +1100
From: "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>
To: Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>
Cc: kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
	"Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@...c4.com>,
	Theodore Ts'o <tytso@....edu>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ker.com>,
	"Roberts, William C" <william.c.roberts@...el.com>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	Jordan Glover <Golden_Miller83@...tonmail.ch>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>, Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>,
	Ian Campbell <ijc@...lion.org.uk>,
	Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Will Deacon <wilal.deacon@....com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Chris Fries <cfries@...gle.com>, Dave Weinstein <olorin@...gle.com>,
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,
	Djalal Harouni <tixxdz@...il.com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	Network Development <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
	David Miller <davem@...emloft.net>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4] scripts: add leaking_addresses.pl

On Wed, Nov 08, 2017 at 11:10:56PM +1100, Michael Ellerman wrote:
> "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc> writes:
> > Currently we are leaking addresses from the kernel to user space. This
> > script is an attempt to find some of those leakages. Script parses
> > `dmesg` output and /proc and /sys files for hex strings that look like
> > kernel addresses.
> >
> > Only works for 64 bit kernels, the reason being that kernel addresses
> > on 64 bit kernels have 'ffff' as the leading bit pattern making greping
> > possible.
> 
> That doesn't work super well on other architectures :D
> 
> I don't speak perl but presumably you can check the arch somehow and
> customise the regex?

I'm on it.

> ...
> > +# Return _all_ non false positive addresses from $line.
> > +sub extract_addresses
> > +{
> > +        my ($line) = @_;
> > +        my $address = '\b(0x)?ffff[[:xdigit:]]{12}\b';
> 
> On 64-bit powerpc (ppc64/ppc64le) we'd want:
> 
> +        my $address = '\b(0x)?[89abcdef]00[[:xdigit:]]{13}\b';

This is great! Thanks a million. This gives me the idea of getting in
contact with people who have access to other [64 bit] architectures and
getting the address format. I guess a dump of kallsyms from each
architecture would do the job nicely. 

> > +# Do not parse these files (absolute path).
> > +my @skip_parse_files_abs = ('/proc/kmsg',
> > +			    '/proc/kcore',
> > +			    '/proc/fs/ext4/sdb1/mb_groups',
> > +			    '/proc/1/fd/3',
> > +			    '/sys/kernel/debug/tracing/trace_pipe',
> > +			    '/sys/kernel/security/apparmor/revision');
> 
> Can you add:
> 
>   /sys/firmware/devicetree
> 
> and/or /proc/device-tree (which is a symlink to the above).

Can do, thanks.

> We should also start restricting access to that because it may have
> potentially interesting physical addresses in it, but that will break
> existing tools, so it will need to be opt-in and done over time.

Seems like this is going to be a recurring theme if we try to stop leaks
using file permissions. I'm interested in how we would do this, assuming
it has to be a case by case fix but done many times.

thanks,
Tobin.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.