Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 8 Nov 2017 11:16:43 +0100
From: Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>
To: "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	"Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@...c4.com>,
	Theodore Ts'o <tytso@....edu>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ker.com>,
	"Roberts, William C" <william.c.roberts@...el.com>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	Jordan Glover <Golden_Miller83@...tonmail.ch>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>, Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>,
	Ian Campbell <ijc@...lion.org.uk>,
	Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Will Deacon <wilal.deacon@....com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Chris Fries <cfries@...gle.com>, Dave Weinstein <olorin@...gle.com>,
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,
	Djalal Harouni <tixxdz@...il.com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	Network Development <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
	David Miller <davem@...emloft.net>,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
	"Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 5/7] scripts/leaking_addresses: add emailing results

On Wed 2017-11-08 14:37:37, Tobin C. Harding wrote:
> Developers may not have the time (or inclination) to investigate script
> output. This information is, however, useful. If we add functionality to
> the script to email results for further investigation.
> 
> Add --send-report flag to email scan results (to Tobin C. Harding).

I am not sure that it is wise to make spaming one person
so easy ;-)

It might make sense to add some more information into
the message. For example:

    + uname -a
    + whether the log was generated using root access

Also people might feel more comfortable if this feature:

     + prints the message
     + printks where it is being sent
     + ask yes/no before doing so


>  scripts/leaking_addresses.pl | 42 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
>  1 file changed, 42 insertions(+)
>  mode change 100755 => 100644 scripts/leaking_addresses.pl
   ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

> diff --git a/scripts/leaking_addresses.pl b/scripts/leaking_addresses.pl
> old mode 100755
> new mode 100644

I guess that this was not intended.

Best Regards,
Petr

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.