Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 13 Oct 2017 17:54:17 +0000
From: "Roberts, William C" <william.c.roberts@...el.com>
To: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>, "Tobin C. Harding"
	<me@...in.cc>
CC: "kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com"
	<kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, KVM list <kvm@...r.kernel.org>, Linux
 Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, Kees Cook
	<keescook@...omium.org>, Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>, Tycho Andersen
	<tycho@...ker.com>, Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>, Jordan Glover
	<Golden_Miller83@...tonmail.ch>, Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>, "Petr
 Mladek" <pmladek@...e.com>, Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>, Ian Campbell
	<ijc@...lion.org.uk>, Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>, Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>, Chris Fries <cfries@...gle.com>, "Dave
 Weinstein" <olorin@...gle.com>, Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>, Djalal
 Harouni <tixxdz@...il.com>
Subject: RE: [PATCH 0/3] add %pX specifier



> -----Original Message-----
> From: linus971@...il.com [mailto:linus971@...il.com] On Behalf Of Linus
> Torvalds
> Sent: Tuesday, October 10, 2017 4:17 PM
> To: Tobin C. Harding <me@...in.cc>
> Cc: kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com; KVM list <kvm@...r.kernel.org>;
> Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>; Kees Cook
> <keescook@...omium.org>; Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>; Tycho
> Andersen <tycho@...ker.com>; Roberts, William C
> <william.c.roberts@...el.com>; Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>; Jordan Glover
> <Golden_Miller83@...tonmail.ch>; Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>;
> Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>; Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>; Ian
> Campbell <ijc@...lion.org.uk>; Sergey Senozhatsky
> <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>; Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>;
> Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>; Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>;
> Chris Fries <cfries@...gle.com>; Dave Weinstein <olorin@...gle.com>; Daniel
> Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>; Djalal Harouni <tixxdz@...il.com>
> Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/3] add %pX specifier
> 
> On Tue, Oct 10, 2017 at 4:09 PM, Tobin C. Harding <me@...in.cc> wrote:
> >
> > This patch is a softer version of Linus' suggestion because it does
> > not change the behaviour of the %p specifier. I don't see the benefit
> > in making such a breaking change without addressing the issue of %x (and I
> don't the balls to right now).
> 
> The thing is, this continues to have the exact same issue that %pK has
> - because it is opt-in, effectively nobody will actually use it.
> 
> That's why I would suggest that if we do this way, we really change %p and %pa
> to use the hashed value, to convert *everybody*. And then people who have a
> good reason to actually expose the pointer have to do the extra work and opt
> out.

Yes we cannot make this opt in or there is really no point in doing it. %pK and mistakes
got us here to this point. I see there is multiple threads, this getting really fun to follow.

> 
>                   Linus

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.