Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 11 Oct 2017 22:11:40 +0200
From: "Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@...c4.com>
To: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc: "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>, 
	"kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com" <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, KVM list <kvm@...r.kernel.org>, 
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, 
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>, Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ker.com>, 
	"Roberts, William C" <william.c.roberts@...el.com>, Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>, 
	Jordan Glover <Golden_Miller83@...tonmail.ch>, Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>, 
	Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>, Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>, Ian Campbell <ijc@...lion.org.uk>, 
	Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>, Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>, 
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>, 
	Chris Fries <cfries@...gle.com>, Dave Weinstein <olorin@...gle.com>, 
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>, Djalal Harouni <tixxdz@...il.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/3] add %pX specifier

Hi Linus,

On Wed, Oct 11, 2017 at 1:15 AM, Linus Torvalds
<torvalds@...ux-foundation.org> wrote:
> (NOTE! Using jhash here is not acceptable, since it's not
> cryptographically safe, but think of it as an example of a hash that
> takes 32-bit input).

Ahh, yes, I should have continued to read the thread before replying
my first reply.

Indeed the correct functions to use would be siphash_1u32 or
siphash_1u64, depending. Depending on the popularity of that, we might
even consider making a siphash_1ulong helper, I suppose.

Jason

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.