Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed,  4 Oct 2017 14:20:01 -0700
From: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
To: Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>,
	"David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
	"H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
	Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Matthias Kaehlcke <mka@...omium.org>,
	Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@....com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>,
	Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>,
	Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
	Chris Wright <chrisw@...s-sol.org>,
	Alok Kataria <akataria@...are.com>,
	Rusty Russell <rusty@...tcorp.com.au>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
	Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
	Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@...il.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@...driver.com>,
	Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@...lanox.com>,
	"Paul E . McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@...aro.org>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
	"Luis R . Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...nel.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Christopher Li <sparse@...isli.org>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Jason Baron <jbaron@...mai.com>,
	Dou Liyang <douly.fnst@...fujitsu.com>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com>,
	Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@...ux.intel.com>,
	Lukas Wunner <lukas@...ner.de>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
	Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
	Markus Trippelsdorf <markus@...ppelsdorf.de>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@...hat.com>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@...tes.org>,
	Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
	Waiman Long <longman@...hat.com>,
	Kyle Huey <me@...ehuey.com>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
	Matthew Wilcox <mawilcox@...rosoft.com>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
	Peter Foley <pefoley2@...oley.com>,
	Paul Bolle <pebolle@...cali.nl>,
	Jiri Kosina <jkosina@...e.cz>,
	Rob Landley <rob@...dley.net>,
	"H . J . Lu" <hjl.tools@...il.com>,
	Baoquan He <bhe@...hat.com>,
	Jan H . Schönherr <jschoenh@...zon.de>,
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>
Cc: x86@...nel.org,
	linux-crypto@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-pm@...r.kernel.org,
	virtualization@...ts.linux-foundation.org,
	xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org,
	linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-sparse@...r.kernel.org,
	kvm@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-doc@...r.kernel.org,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: [RFC v3 25/27] x86/pie: Add option to build the kernel as PIE

Add the CONFIG_X86_PIE option which builds the kernel as a Position
Independent Executable (PIE). The kernel is currently build with the
mcmodel=kernel option which forces it to stay on the top 2G of the
virtual address space. With PIE, the kernel will be able to move below
the current limit.

The --emit-relocs linker option was kept instead of using -pie to limit
the impact on mapped sections. Any incompatible relocation will be
catch by the arch/x86/tools/relocs binary at compile time.

Performance/Size impact:
Size of vmlinux (Default configuration):
 File size:
 - PIE disabled: +0.000031%
 - PIE enabled: -3.210% (less relocations)
 .text section:
 - PIE disabled: +0.000644%
 - PIE enabled: +0.837%

Size of vmlinux (Ubuntu configuration):
 File size:
 - PIE disabled: -0.201%
 - PIE enabled: -0.082%
 .text section:
 - PIE disabled: same
 - PIE enabled: +1.319%

Size of vmlinux (Default configuration + ORC):
 File size:
 - PIE enabled: -3.167%
 .text section:
 - PIE enabled: +0.814%

Size of vmlinux (Ubuntu configuration + ORC):
 File size:
 - PIE enabled: -3.167%
 .text section:
 - PIE enabled: +1.26%

The size increase is mainly due to not having access to the 32-bit signed
relocation that can be used with mcmodel=kernel. A small part is due to reduced
optimization for PIE code. This bug [1] was opened with gcc to provide a better
code generation for kernel PIE.

Hackbench (50% and 1600% on thread/process for pipe/sockets):
 - PIE disabled: no significant change (avg +0.1% on latest test).
 - PIE enabled: between -0.50% to +0.86% in average (default and Ubuntu config).

slab_test (average of 10 runs):
 - PIE disabled: no significant change (-2% on latest run, likely noise).
 - PIE enabled: between -1% and +0.8% on latest runs.

Kernbench (average of 10 Half and Optimal runs):
 Elapsed Time:
 - PIE disabled: no significant change (avg -0.239%)
 - PIE enabled: average +0.07%
 System Time:
 - PIE disabled: no significant change (avg -0.277%)
 - PIE enabled: average +0.7%

[1] https://gcc.gnu.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=82303

Signed-off-by: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
---
 arch/x86/Kconfig  | 8 ++++++++
 arch/x86/Makefile | 1 +
 2 files changed, 9 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/x86/Kconfig b/arch/x86/Kconfig
index 1e4b399c64e5..b92f96923712 100644
--- a/arch/x86/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/x86/Kconfig
@@ -2141,6 +2141,14 @@ config X86_GLOBAL_STACKPROTECTOR
 	bool
 	depends on CC_STACKPROTECTOR
 
+config X86_PIE
+	bool
+	depends on X86_64
+	select DEFAULT_HIDDEN
+	select DYNAMIC_MODULE_BASE
+	select MODULE_REL_CRCS if MODVERSIONS
+	select X86_GLOBAL_STACKPROTECTOR if CC_STACKPROTECTOR
+
 config HOTPLUG_CPU
 	bool "Support for hot-pluggable CPUs"
 	depends on SMP
diff --git a/arch/x86/Makefile b/arch/x86/Makefile
index 42774185a58a..c49855b4b1be 100644
--- a/arch/x86/Makefile
+++ b/arch/x86/Makefile
@@ -144,6 +144,7 @@ else
 
         KBUILD_CFLAGS += -mno-red-zone
 ifdef CONFIG_X86_PIE
+        KBUILD_CFLAGS += -fPIC
         KBUILD_LDFLAGS_MODULE += -T $(srctree)/arch/x86/kernel/module.lds
 else
         KBUILD_CFLAGS += -mcmodel=kernel
-- 
2.14.2.920.gcf0c67979c-goog

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.