Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed,  4 Oct 2017 14:19:40 -0700
From: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
To: Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>,
	"David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
	"H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
	Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Matthias Kaehlcke <mka@...omium.org>,
	Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@....com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>,
	Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>,
	Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
	Chris Wright <chrisw@...s-sol.org>,
	Alok Kataria <akataria@...are.com>,
	Rusty Russell <rusty@...tcorp.com.au>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
	Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
	Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@...il.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@...driver.com>,
	Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@...lanox.com>,
	"Paul E . McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@...aro.org>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
	"Luis R . Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...nel.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Christopher Li <sparse@...isli.org>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Jason Baron <jbaron@...mai.com>,
	Dou Liyang <douly.fnst@...fujitsu.com>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com>,
	Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@...ux.intel.com>,
	Lukas Wunner <lukas@...ner.de>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
	Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
	Markus Trippelsdorf <markus@...ppelsdorf.de>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@...hat.com>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@...tes.org>,
	Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
	Waiman Long <longman@...hat.com>,
	Kyle Huey <me@...ehuey.com>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
	Matthew Wilcox <mawilcox@...rosoft.com>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
	Peter Foley <pefoley2@...oley.com>,
	Paul Bolle <pebolle@...cali.nl>,
	Jiri Kosina <jkosina@...e.cz>,
	Rob Landley <rob@...dley.net>,
	"H . J . Lu" <hjl.tools@...il.com>,
	Baoquan He <bhe@...hat.com>,
	Jan H . Schönherr <jschoenh@...zon.de>,
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>
Cc: x86@...nel.org,
	linux-crypto@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-pm@...r.kernel.org,
	virtualization@...ts.linux-foundation.org,
	xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org,
	linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-sparse@...r.kernel.org,
	kvm@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-doc@...r.kernel.org,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: [RFC v3 04/27] x86: Add macro to get symbol address for PIE support

Add a new _ASM_GET_PTR macro to fetch a symbol address. It will be used
to replace "_ASM_MOV $<symbol>, %dst" code construct that are not compatible
with PIE.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
---
 arch/x86/include/asm/asm.h | 13 +++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 13 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/asm.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/asm.h
index c1eadbaf1115..dddcb8a3b777 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/asm.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/asm.h
@@ -55,6 +55,19 @@
 # define CC_OUT(c) [_cc_ ## c] "=qm"
 #endif
 
+/* Macros to get a global variable address with PIE support on 64-bit */
+#ifdef CONFIG_X86_32
+#define __ASM_GET_PTR_PRE(_src) __ASM_FORM_COMMA(movl $##_src)
+#else
+#ifdef __ASSEMBLY__
+#define __ASM_GET_PTR_PRE(_src) __ASM_FORM_COMMA(leaq (_src)(%rip))
+#else
+#define __ASM_GET_PTR_PRE(_src) __ASM_FORM_COMMA(leaq (_src)(%%rip))
+#endif
+#endif
+#define _ASM_GET_PTR(_src, _dst) \
+		__ASM_GET_PTR_PRE(_src) __ASM_FORM(_dst)
+
 /* Exception table entry */
 #ifdef __ASSEMBLY__
 # define _ASM_EXTABLE_HANDLE(from, to, handler)			\
-- 
2.14.2.920.gcf0c67979c-goog

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.