Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 6 Sep 2017 10:53:09 -0700
From: Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com>
To: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>
Cc: "linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, Nicolas Pitre <nico@...aro.org>,
	Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	Matt Fleming <matt@...eblueprint.co.uk>,
	Dave Martin <dave.martin@....com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 00/29] implement KASLR for ARM

* Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org> [170906 10:31]:
> On 6 September 2017 at 18:12, Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com> wrote:
> > Kernel image @ 0x81000000 [ 0x000000 - 0x426300 ]
> > ## Flattened Device Tree blob at 84000000
> >    Booting using the fdt blob at 0x84000000
> >    Loading Device Tree to 86feb000, end 86fff2d5 ... OK
> >
> > Starting kernel ...
> >
> > regions.image_size:00e00000
> > regions.pa_start:80000000
> > regions.pa_end:87200000
> > regions.zimage_start:81000000
> > regions.zimage_size:00437320
> > regions.dtb_start:86feb000
> > regions.dtb_size:00012000
> > regions.initrd_start:00000000
> > regions.initrd_size:00000000
> > num:00000028
> > num:00000025
> > *kaslr_offset:05e00000
> > Uncompressing Linux... done, booting the kernel.
> > Warning: Neither atags nor dtb found
> 
> OK, so in this case, 80000000 + 00e00000 + 05e00000 == 86c00000, which
> is still below the DTB, but apparently, it has corrupted it anyway.
> 
> I will try to figure out what's going on here.

Do you need to have kaslr_offset beyond the uncompressed
kernel size maybe?

> Thanks again for taking the time,

No problem, I'm happy to test these changes.

Regards,

Tony

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.