Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 4 Sep 2017 17:20:21 +0100
From: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>
To: Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@...aro.org>
Cc: "linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>, 
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, 
	Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, 
	Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>, Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>, 
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com>, 
	Matt Fleming <matt@...eblueprint.co.uk>, Dave Martin <dave.martin@....com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 08/29] ARM: head: use PC-relative insn sequence for __smp_alt

On 4 September 2017 at 17:19, Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@...aro.org> wrote:
> On Sun, 3 Sep 2017, Ard Biesheuvel wrote:
>
>> Replace the open coded PC relative offset calculations with a pair
>> of adr_l invocations. This ensures these quantities are invariant
>> under runtime relocation.
>
> You probably should add that this patch must be applied on top of "ARM:
> kernel: use relative references for UP/SMP alternatives" because of the
> expected r3 value prior to that patch.
>
> Acked-by: Nicolas Pitre <nico@...aro.org>
>

Yes, that is why I needed to reorder them. I will add a mention to the
commit log.

Thanks,

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.