Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 4 Sep 2017 11:59:18 -0400 (EDT)
From: Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@...aro.org>
To: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>
cc: linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com, 
    Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>, 
    Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>, 
    Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>, Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, 
    Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com>, Matt Fleming <matt@...eblueprint.co.uk>, 
    Dave Martin <dave.martin@....com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 02/29] asm-generic: add .data.rel.ro sections to
 __ro_after_init

On Sun, 3 Sep 2017, Ard Biesheuvel wrote:

> When running in PIC mode, the compiler will emit const structures
> containing runtime relocatable quantities into .data.rel.ro.* sections,
> so that the linker can be smart about placing them together in a segment
> that is read-write initially, and is remapped read-only afterwards. This
> is exactly what __ro_after_init aims to provide, so move these sections
> together.
> 
> Acked-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>
> Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>

Acked-by: Nicolas Pitre <nico@...aro.org>

> ---
>  include/asm-generic/vmlinux.lds.h | 2 +-
>  1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
> 
> diff --git a/include/asm-generic/vmlinux.lds.h b/include/asm-generic/vmlinux.lds.h
> index da0be9a8d1de..d16537b0b102 100644
> --- a/include/asm-generic/vmlinux.lds.h
> +++ b/include/asm-generic/vmlinux.lds.h
> @@ -261,7 +261,7 @@
>  #ifndef RO_AFTER_INIT_DATA
>  #define RO_AFTER_INIT_DATA						\
>  	VMLINUX_SYMBOL(__start_ro_after_init) = .;			\
> -	*(.data..ro_after_init)						\
> +	*(.data..ro_after_init .data.rel.ro.*)				\
>  	VMLINUX_SYMBOL(__end_ro_after_init) = .;
>  #endif
>  
> -- 
> 2.11.0
> 
> 

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.