Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Tue, 15 Aug 2017 13:50:37 +0100
From: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>
To: linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org
Cc: ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org,
	catalin.marinas@....com,
	james.morse@....com,
	labbott@...hat.com,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	luto@...capital.net,
	mark.rutland@....com,
	matt@...eblueprint.co.uk,
	will.deacon@....com,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
	keescook@...omium.org
Subject: [PATCHv2 02/14] fork: allow arch-override of VMAP stack alignment

In some cases, an architecture might wish its stacks to be aligned to a
boundary larger than THREAD_SIZE. For example, using an alignment of
double THREAD_SIZE can allow for stack overflows smaller than
THREAD_SIZE to be detected by checking a single bit of the stack
pointer.

This patch allows architectures to override the alignment of VMAP'd
stacks, by defining THREAD_ALIGN. Where not defined, this defaults to
THREAD_SIZE, as is the case today.

Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@...capital.net>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>
Cc: James Morse <james.morse@....com>
Cc: Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>
Cc: linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
---
 kernel/fork.c | 5 ++++-
 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/kernel/fork.c b/kernel/fork.c
index 17921b0..696d692 100644
--- a/kernel/fork.c
+++ b/kernel/fork.c
@@ -217,7 +217,10 @@ static unsigned long *alloc_thread_stack_node(struct task_struct *tsk, int node)
 		return s->addr;
 	}
 
-	stack = __vmalloc_node_range(THREAD_SIZE, THREAD_SIZE,
+#ifndef THREAD_ALIGN
+#define THREAD_ALIGN	THREAD_SIZE
+#endif
+	stack = __vmalloc_node_range(THREAD_SIZE, THREAD_ALIGN,
 				     VMALLOC_START, VMALLOC_END,
 				     THREADINFO_GFP,
 				     PAGE_KERNEL,
-- 
1.9.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.