Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 11 Aug 2017 14:36:18 +0200
From: Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>
To: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
Cc: Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>,
	"David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
	Matthias Kaehlcke <mka@...omium.org>,
	Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
	Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@...hat.com>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@...tes.org>,
	Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@....com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>,
	Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>, Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
	Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@...driver.com>,
	Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@...lanox.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	"Paul E . McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@...aro.org>,
	Christopher Li <sparse@...isli.org>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com>,
	Lukas Wunner <lukas@...ner.de>,
	Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@...ux.intel.com>,
	Dou Liyang <douly.fnst@...fujitsu.com>,
	Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
	Markus Trippelsdorf <markus@...ppelsdorf.de>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
	Waiman Long <longman@...hat.com>, Kyle Huey <me@...ehuey.com>,
	Peter Foley <pefoley2@...oley.com>,
	Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@...ux.intel.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
	Matthew Wilcox <mawilcox@...rosoft.com>,
	"H . J . Lu" <hjl.tools@...il.com>, Paul Bolle <pebolle@...cali.nl>,
	Rob Landley <rob@...dley.net>, Baoquan He <bhe@...hat.com>,
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>, x86@...nel.org,
	linux-crypto@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org, kvm@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-pm@...r.kernel.org, linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-sparse@...r.kernel.org, kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: Re: [RFC v2 13/23] x86/power/64: Adapt assembly for PIE support

On Thu 2017-08-10 10:26:05, Thomas Garnier wrote:
> Change the assembly code to use only relative references of symbols for the
> kernel to be PIE compatible.
> 
> Position Independent Executable (PIE) support will allow to extended the
> KASLR randomization range below the -2G memory limit.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>

Acked-by: Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>

> --- a/arch/x86/power/hibernate_asm_64.S
> +++ b/arch/x86/power/hibernate_asm_64.S
> @@ -24,7 +24,7 @@
>  #include <asm/frame.h>
>  
>  ENTRY(swsusp_arch_suspend)
> -	movq	$saved_context, %rax
> +	leaq	saved_context(%rip), %rax
>  	movq	%rsp, pt_regs_sp(%rax)
>  	movq	%rbp, pt_regs_bp(%rax)
>  	movq	%rsi, pt_regs_si(%rax)
> @@ -115,7 +115,7 @@ ENTRY(restore_registers)
>  	movq	%rax, %cr4;  # turn PGE back on
>  
>  	/* We don't restore %rax, it must be 0 anyway */
> -	movq	$saved_context, %rax
> +	leaq	saved_context(%rip), %rax
>  	movq	pt_regs_sp(%rax), %rsp
>  	movq	pt_regs_bp(%rax), %rbp
>  	movq	pt_regs_si(%rax), %rsi

-- 
(english) http://www.livejournal.com/~pavelmachek
(cesky, pictures) http://atrey.karlin.mff.cuni.cz/~pavel/picture/horses/blog.html

Download attachment "signature.asc" of type "application/pgp-signature" (182 bytes)

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.