Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu, 3 Aug 2017 10:57:08 -0700
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>
Cc: "linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, 
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>, Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@...aro.org>, 
	Dave Martin <Dave.Martin@....com>, jiong.wang@....com, kvmarm@...ts.cs.columbia.edu, 
	linux-arch <linux-arch@...r.kernel.org>, Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>, 
	"Suzuki K. Poulose" <suzuki.poulose@....com>, Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>, yao.qi@....com, 
	LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, 
	"kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com" <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, 
	"linux-doc@...r.kernel.org" <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 01/11] arm64: docs: describe ELF hwcaps

On Wed, Jul 19, 2017 at 9:01 AM, Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com> wrote:
> We don't document our ELF hwcaps, leaving developers to interpret them
> according to hearsay, guesswork, or (in exceptional cases) inspection of
> the current kernel code.
>
> This is less than optimal, and it would be far better if we had some
> definitive description of each of the ELF hwcaps that developers could
> refer to.
>
> This patch adds a document describing the (native) arm64 ELF hwcaps.
>
> Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>
> Cc: Dave Martin <Dave.Martin@....com>
> Cc: Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@....com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>
> ---
>  Documentation/arm64/elf_hwcaps.txt | 133 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

With the kernel docs moving to ReST markup[1], perhaps reformat this
to a .rst file and link to it from somewhere sensible in the ReST
tree, perhaps the userspace API section in
Documentation/userspace-api/index.rst?

-Kees

[1] https://www.kernel.org/doc/html/latest/doc-guide/sphinx.html

-- 
Kees Cook
Pixel Security

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.