Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 21 Jun 2017 06:57:44 -0700
From: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
To: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, 
	"H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>, Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>, 
	Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>, Oleg Nesterov <oleg@...hat.com>, Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>, 
	Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>, Miroslav Benes <mbenes@...e.cz>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, 
	Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, 
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...el.com>, David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>, 
	Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>, Andy Lutomirski <luto@...capital.net>, 
	Will Drewry <wad@...omium.org>, Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>, 
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, Pratyush Anand <panand@...hat.com>, 
	Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@...lanox.com>, Linux API <linux-api@...r.kernel.org>, 
	"the arch/x86 maintainers" <x86@...nel.org>, LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, 
	linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, 
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v10 3/3] arm64/syscalls: Check address limit on user-mode return

On Wed, Jun 21, 2017 at 1:16 AM, Catalin Marinas
<catalin.marinas@....com> wrote:
> On Wed, Jun 14, 2017 at 06:12:03PM -0700, Thomas Garnier wrote:
>> Ensure the address limit is a user-mode segment before returning to
>> user-mode. Otherwise a process can corrupt kernel-mode memory and
>> elevate privileges [1].
>>
>> The set_fs function sets the TIF_SETFS flag to force a slow path on
>> return. In the slow path, the address limit is checked to be USER_DS if
>> needed.
>>
>> [1] https://bugs.chromium.org/p/project-zero/issues/detail?id=990
>>
>> Signed-off-by: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
>> ---
>> v10 redesigns the change to use work flags on set_fs as recommended by
>> Linus and agreed by others.
>>
>> Based on next-20170609
>> ---
>>  arch/arm64/include/asm/thread_info.h | 4 +++-
>>  arch/arm64/include/asm/uaccess.h     | 3 +++
>>  arch/arm64/kernel/signal.c           | 5 +++++
>>  3 files changed, 11 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
>
> For arm64:
>
> Reviewed-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>

Thanks Catalin

-- 
Thomas

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.