Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Sun, 11 Jun 2017 11:13:01 +0300
From: Kalle Valo <kvalo@...eaurora.org>
To: "Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@...c4.com>
Cc: linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,  kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,  Anna Schumaker <anna.schumaker@...app.com>,  David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,  David Safford <safford@...ibm.com>,  "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,  Gilad Ben-Yossef <gilad@...yossef.com>,  Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,  Gustavo Padovan <gustavo@...ovan.org>,  "J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@...ldses.org>,  Jeff Layton <jlayton@...chiereds.net>,  Johan Hedberg <johan.hedberg@...il.com>,  Johannes Berg <johannes@...solutions.net>,  Marcel Holtmann <marcel@...tmann.org>,  Mimi Zohar <zohar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,  Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@...marydata.com>,  keyrings@...r.kernel.org,  linux-bluetooth@...r.kernel.org,  linux-nfs@...r.kernel.org,  linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org,  netdev@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/6] Constant Time Memory Comparisons Are Important

"Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@...c4.com> writes:

> Whenever you're comparing two MACs, it's important to do this using
> crypto_memneq instead of memcmp. With memcmp, you leak timing information,
> which could then be used to iteratively forge a MAC.

Do you have any pointers where I could learn more about this?

-- 
Kalle Valo

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.