Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 28 Apr 2017 08:32:12 -0700
From: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
To: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@...ibm.com>,
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@...ibm.com>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...el.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
	Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>,
	René Nyffenegger <mail@...enyffenegger.ch>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	"Paul E . McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
	"Eric W . Biederman" <ebiederm@...ssion.com>,
	Oleg Nesterov <oleg@...hat.com>,
	Pavel Tikhomirov <ptikhomirov@...tuozzo.com>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
	"H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
	Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@...ibm.com>,
	Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	James Morse <james.morse@....com>
Cc: linux-s390@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-api@...r.kernel.org,
	x86@...nel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: [PATCH v9 3/4] arm/syscalls: Optimize address limit check

Disable the generic address limit check in favor of an architecture
specific optimized implementation.

The address limit is checked on each syscall return path to user-mode
path as well as the irq user-mode return function. If the address limit
was changed, a generic handler is called to stop the kernel on an
explicit check.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
---
Based on next-20170426
---
 arch/arm/Kconfig               |  1 +
 arch/arm/kernel/entry-common.S | 10 +++++++++-
 2 files changed, 10 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm/Kconfig b/arch/arm/Kconfig
index 4c1a35f15838..c7322f2bb818 100644
--- a/arch/arm/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/arm/Kconfig
@@ -1,6 +1,7 @@
 config ARM
 	bool
 	default y
+	select ADDR_LIMIT_CHECK
 	select ARCH_CLOCKSOURCE_DATA
 	select ARCH_HAS_DEBUG_VIRTUAL
 	select ARCH_HAS_DEVMEM_IS_ALLOWED
diff --git a/arch/arm/kernel/entry-common.S b/arch/arm/kernel/entry-common.S
index eb5cd77bf1d8..c83927498f40 100644
--- a/arch/arm/kernel/entry-common.S
+++ b/arch/arm/kernel/entry-common.S
@@ -12,6 +12,7 @@
 #include <asm/unistd.h>
 #include <asm/ftrace.h>
 #include <asm/unwind.h>
+#include <asm/memory.h>
 #ifdef CONFIG_AEABI
 #include <asm/unistd-oabi.h>
 #endif
@@ -27,7 +28,6 @@
 
 #include "entry-header.S"
 
-
 	.align	5
 #if !(IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_TRACE_IRQFLAGS) || IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_CONTEXT_TRACKING))
 /*
@@ -40,9 +40,12 @@ ret_fast_syscall:
  UNWIND(.fnstart	)
  UNWIND(.cantunwind	)
 	disable_irq_notrace			@ disable interrupts
+	ldr	r2, [tsk, #TI_ADDR_LIMIT]
 	ldr	r1, [tsk, #TI_FLAGS]		@ re-check for syscall tracing
 	tst	r1, #_TIF_SYSCALL_WORK | _TIF_WORK_MASK
 	bne	fast_work_pending
+	cmp	r2, #TASK_SIZE
+	blne	addr_limit_check_failed
 
 	/* perform architecture specific actions before user return */
 	arch_ret_to_user r1, lr
@@ -66,6 +69,7 @@ ret_fast_syscall:
  UNWIND(.cantunwind	)
 	str	r0, [sp, #S_R0 + S_OFF]!	@ save returned r0
 	disable_irq_notrace			@ disable interrupts
+	ldr	r2, [tsk, #TI_ADDR_LIMIT]
 	ldr	r1, [tsk, #TI_FLAGS]		@ re-check for syscall tracing
 	tst	r1, #_TIF_SYSCALL_WORK | _TIF_WORK_MASK
 	beq	no_work_pending
@@ -82,6 +86,7 @@ slow_work_pending:
 	mov	r2, why				@ 'syscall'
 	bl	do_work_pending
 	cmp	r0, #0
+	ldreq   r2, [tsk, #TI_ADDR_LIMIT]
 	beq	no_work_pending
 	movlt	scno, #(__NR_restart_syscall - __NR_SYSCALL_BASE)
 	ldmia	sp, {r0 - r6}			@ have to reload r0 - r6
@@ -99,9 +104,12 @@ ret_slow_syscall:
 	disable_irq_notrace			@ disable interrupts
 ENTRY(ret_to_user_from_irq)
 	ldr	r1, [tsk, #TI_FLAGS]
+	ldr	r2, [tsk, #TI_ADDR_LIMIT]
 	tst	r1, #_TIF_WORK_MASK
 	bne	slow_work_pending
 no_work_pending:
+	cmp	r2, #TASK_SIZE
+	blne	addr_limit_check_failed
 	asm_trace_hardirqs_on save = 0
 
 	/* perform architecture specific actions before user return */
-- 
2.13.0.rc0.306.g87b477812d-goog

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.