Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 10 Apr 2017 13:06:22 -0700
From: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
To: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@...ibm.com>,
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@...ibm.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...el.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
	René Nyffenegger <mail@...enyffenegger.ch>,
	"Paul E . McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Oleg Nesterov <oleg@...hat.com>,
	Stephen Smalley <sds@...ho.nsa.gov>,
	Pavel Tikhomirov <ptikhomirov@...tuozzo.com>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
	"H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
	Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@...ibm.com>,
	Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	James Morse <james.morse@....com>
Cc: linux-s390@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-api@...r.kernel.org,
	x86@...nel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: [PATCH v7 4/4] arm64/syscalls: Architecture specific pre-usermode check

Disable the generic pre-usermode check in favor of an optimized
implementation. This patch adds specific checks on user-mode return path
to make it faster and smaller.

The address limit is checked on each syscall return path to user-mode.
If it was changed, a generic handler is called to stop the kernel on an
explicit check.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
---
Based on next-20170410
---
 arch/arm64/Kconfig        |  1 +
 arch/arm64/kernel/entry.S | 13 +++++++++++++
 2 files changed, 14 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/Kconfig b/arch/arm64/Kconfig
index 9b8fcab7da56..3f9e8e7d9376 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/arm64/Kconfig
@@ -24,6 +24,7 @@ config ARM64
 	select ARCH_WANT_COMPAT_IPC_PARSE_VERSION
 	select ARCH_WANT_FRAME_POINTERS
 	select ARCH_HAS_UBSAN_SANITIZE_ALL
+	select ARCH_NO_SYSCALL_VERIFY_PRE_USERMODE_STATE
 	select ARM_AMBA
 	select ARM_ARCH_TIMER
 	select ARM_GIC
diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/entry.S b/arch/arm64/kernel/entry.S
index 43512d4d7df2..bdd094c7837a 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/entry.S
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/entry.S
@@ -744,6 +744,8 @@ ENDPROC(cpu_switch_to)
 ret_fast_syscall:
 	disable_irq				// disable interrupts
 	str	x0, [sp, #S_X0]			// returned x0
+	ldr	x2, [tsk, #TSK_TI_ADDR_LIMIT]	// check addr limit change
+	tbnz	x2, #63, addr_limit_fail
 	ldr	x1, [tsk, #TSK_TI_FLAGS]	// re-check for syscall tracing
 	and	x2, x1, #_TIF_SYSCALL_WORK
 	cbnz	x2, ret_fast_syscall_trace
@@ -771,6 +773,9 @@ work_pending:
  */
 ret_to_user:
 	disable_irq				// disable interrupts
+	ldr	x2, [tsk, #TSK_TI_ADDR_LIMIT]	// check addr limit change
+	tbnz	x2, #63, addr_limit_fail
+
 	ldr	x1, [tsk, #TSK_TI_FLAGS]
 	and	x2, x1, #_TIF_WORK_MASK
 	cbnz	x2, work_pending
@@ -780,6 +785,14 @@ finish_ret_to_user:
 ENDPROC(ret_to_user)
 
 /*
+ * Address limit was incorrect before returning in user-mode which could be
+ * used to elevate privileges. Call the generic handler to stop the kernel on
+ * the appropriate check. This function does not return.
+ */
+addr_limit_fail:
+	bl address_limit_check_failed
+
+/*
  * This is how we return from a fork.
  */
 ENTRY(ret_from_fork)
-- 
2.12.2.715.g7642488e1d-goog

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.