Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Tue, 4 Apr 2017 11:11:03 -0700
From: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>
To: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>,
        Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@...ibm.com>,
        Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@...ibm.com>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...el.com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>, David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
        René Nyffenegger <mail@...enyffenegger.ch>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        "Paul E . McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>, Oleg Nesterov <oleg@...hat.com>,
        Stephen Smalley <sds@...ho.nsa.gov>,
        Pavel Tikhomirov <ptikhomirov@...tuozzo.com>,
        Ingo Molnar
 <mingo@...hat.com>, Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>, Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
        Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>, Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
        "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>,
        Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@...ibm.com>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, James Morse <james.morse@....com>
Cc: linux-s390@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-api@...r.kernel.org, x86@...nel.org,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 2/4] x86/syscalls: Specific usage of
 verify_pre_usermode_state

On 04/04/17 10:47, Thomas Garnier wrote:
> Implement specific usage of verify_pre_usermode_state for user-mode
> returns for x86.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
>  
> +	/*
> +	 * If address limit is not based on user-mode, jump to slow path for
> +	 * additional security checks.
> +	 */
> +	movq	$TASK_SIZE_MAX, %rcx
> +	cmp	%rcx, TASK_addr_limit(%r11)
> +	jnz	1f
> +
>  	LOCKDEP_SYS_EXIT

Nitpick: use jne not jnz when comparing for equality.  Same instruction
but more readable.

	-hpa


Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.