Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 13 Mar 2017 12:24:21 -0700
From: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
To: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>, Stanislaw Gruszka <sgruszka@...hat.com>, kvm list <kvm@...r.kernel.org>, 
	"linux-doc@...r.kernel.org" <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>, Matt Fleming <matt@...eblueprint.co.uk>, 
	Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@...il.com>, Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>, 
	Chris Wilson <chris@...is-wilson.co.uk>, "linux-mm@...ck.org" <linux-mm@...ck.org>, 
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...el.com>, Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@...hat.com>, 
	"linux-efi@...r.kernel.org" <linux-efi@...r.kernel.org>, Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>, 
	Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>, "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, 
	"kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com" <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, Jiri Olsa <jolsa@...hat.com>, 
	zijun_hu <zijun_hu@....com>, Prarit Bhargava <prarit@...hat.com>, Andi Kleen <ak@...ux.intel.com>, 
	Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>, Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>, 
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>, Joerg Roedel <joro@...tes.org>, X86 ML <x86@...nel.org>, 
	"Luis R . Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...nel.org>, kasan-dev <kasan-dev@...glegroups.com>, 
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@...ibm.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, 
	"xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org" <xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>, 
	Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@...el.com>, Jiri Kosina <jikos@...nel.org>, 
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, He Chen <he.chen@...ux.intel.com>, 
	Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>, Rusty Russell <rusty@...tcorp.com.au>, 
	Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@....com>, lguest@...ts.ozlabs.org, 
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>, Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>, 
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>, Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>, 
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>, Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>, 
	Lorenzo Stoakes <lstoakes@...il.com>, Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@...driver.com>, 
	Andrew Cooper <andrew.cooper3@...rix.com>, 
	"linux-pm@...r.kernel.org" <linux-pm@...r.kernel.org>, Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>, 
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>, 
	"linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, Andy Lutomirski <luto@...capital.net>, 
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>, Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>, 
	Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@...hat.com>, Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@...ux.intel.com>
Subject: Re: [Xen-devel] [PATCH v5 2/3] x86: Remap GDT tables in the Fixmap section

On Mon, Mar 13, 2017 at 11:32 AM, Boris Ostrovsky
<boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com> wrote:
> There are a couple of problems for Xen PV guests that need to be addressed:
> 1. Xen's set_fixmap op needs non-default handling for
> FIX_GDT_REMAP_BEGIN range
> 2. GDT remapping for PV guests needs to be RO for both 64 and 32-bit guests.
>
> I don't know how you prefer to deal with (2), patch below is one
> suggestion. With it all my boot tests (Xen and bare-metal) passed.
>

Good suggestion, I think I will use most of it. Thanks!

> One problem with applying it directly is that kernel becomes
> not-bisectable (Xen-wise) between patches 2 and 3 so perhaps you might
> pull some of the changes from patch 3 to patch 2.
>

Yes that make sense, I will have to add the global variable on patch 2
and rebase 3 correctly.

-- 
Thomas

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.