Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 8 Feb 2017 20:26:29 -0800
From: Eric Biggers <ebiggers3@...il.com>
To: Hoeun Ryu <hoeun.ryu@...il.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Michal Marek <mmarek@...e.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Emese Revfy <re.emese@...il.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
	Mickaël Salaün <mic@...ikod.net>,
	Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>, Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@...ssion.com>,
	Mateusz Guzik <mguzik@...hat.com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 2/2] fork: make number of cached
 stacks (vmapped) configurable using Kbuild

On Thu, Feb 09, 2017 at 01:03:47PM +0900, Hoeun Ryu wrote:
> +config NR_VMAP_STACK_CACHE
> +	int "Number of cached stacks"
> +	default "2"
> +	depends on VMAP_STACK
> +	help
> +	  This determines how many stacks can be cached for virtually
> +	  mapped kernel stacks.
> +

Can you explain in the help text under what circumstances someone should change
this, and to what value?  As-is, it seems like somewhat of a useless config
option which no one will ever change.

- Eric

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.