Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri,  3 Feb 2017 09:52:20 -0800
From: Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Cc: Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
	Jason Wessel <jason.wessel@...driver.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
	Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
	"James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@...isc-linux.org>,
	Helge Deller <deller@....de>,
	Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@...ibm.com>,
	Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@...ibm.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
	x86@...nel.org,
	Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>,
	Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	Jessica Yu <jeyu@...hat.com>,
	linux-doc@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
	linux-parisc@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-s390@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-pm@...r.kernel.org,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>
Subject: [PATCHv2 0/2] Hardening configs refactor/rename

Hi,

This is a follow up to my proposal to rename/refactor CONFIG_DEBUG_RODATA
and CONFIG_DEBUG_SET_MODULE_RONX. Among other objections, there shouldn't
be 'debug' in the name since these provide necessary kernel protection.

v2 takes a slightly different approach to this per feedback. Patch #1 moves
CONFIG_DEBUG_RODATA and CONFIG_DEBUG_SET_MODULE_RONX to a common arch config.
These configs are def_bool y for every arch except !CPU_V7 for arm
CONFIG_DEBUG_RODATA. I think this also mitigates another concern about changing
the name since these are basically internal configs at this point and not end
user selectable. Patch #2 does the rename to something more descriptive.
Hopefully this should separate discussion more clearly into two parts (refactor
and rename)

Thanks,
Laura


Laura Abbott (2):
  arch: Move CONFIG_DEBUG_RODATA and CONFIG_SET_MODULE_RONX to be common
  arch: Rename CONFIG_DEBUG_RODATA and CONFIG_DEBUG_MODULE_RONX

 Documentation/DocBook/kgdb.tmpl            |  8 ++++----
 Documentation/security/self-protection.txt |  4 ++--
 arch/Kconfig                               | 28 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 arch/arm/Kconfig                           |  3 +++
 arch/arm/Kconfig.debug                     | 11 -----------
 arch/arm/configs/aspeed_g4_defconfig       |  3 +--
 arch/arm/configs/aspeed_g5_defconfig       |  3 +--
 arch/arm/include/asm/cacheflush.h          |  2 +-
 arch/arm/kernel/patch.c                    |  4 ++--
 arch/arm/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S              |  8 ++++----
 arch/arm/mm/Kconfig                        | 14 +-------------
 arch/arm/mm/init.c                         |  4 ++--
 arch/arm64/Kconfig                         |  5 ++---
 arch/arm64/Kconfig.debug                   | 13 +------------
 arch/arm64/kernel/insn.c                   |  2 +-
 arch/parisc/Kconfig                        |  1 +
 arch/parisc/Kconfig.debug                  | 11 -----------
 arch/parisc/configs/712_defconfig          |  1 -
 arch/parisc/configs/c3000_defconfig        |  1 -
 arch/parisc/mm/init.c                      |  2 +-
 arch/s390/Kconfig                          |  5 ++---
 arch/s390/Kconfig.debug                    |  3 ---
 arch/x86/Kconfig                           |  5 ++---
 arch/x86/Kconfig.debug                     | 11 -----------
 include/linux/filter.h                     |  4 ++--
 include/linux/init.h                       |  4 ++--
 include/linux/module.h                     |  2 +-
 init/main.c                                |  4 ++--
 kernel/configs/android-recommended.config  |  2 +-
 kernel/module.c                            |  6 +++---
 kernel/power/hibernate.c                   |  2 +-
 kernel/power/power.h                       |  4 ++--
 kernel/power/snapshot.c                    |  4 ++--
 33 files changed, 75 insertions(+), 109 deletions(-)

-- 
2.7.4

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.