Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 4 Jan 2017 12:31:45 -0600
From: Matthew Garrett <mjg59@...eos.com>
To: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, 
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>, 
	Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>, Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>, 
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@...nel.org>, Tomeu Vizoso <tomeu.vizoso@...labora.com>, 
	Lukas Wunner <lukas@...ner.de>, Madalin Bucur <madalin.bucur@....com>, 
	Sudip Mukherjee <sudipm.mukherjee@...il.com>, Rasmus Villemoes <linux@...musvillemoes.dk>, 
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>, 
	Russell King <rmk+kernel@....linux.org.uk>, Petr Tesarik <ptesarik@...e.com>, 
	linux-pm@...r.kernel.org, kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH] Allow userspace control of runtime disabling/enabling of
 driver probing

On Wed, Jan 4, 2017 at 12:10 PM, Matthew Garrett <mjg59@...eos.com> wrote:
>
> The USB authentication feature was intended for handling wireless USB
> devices - it can be reused for this, but the code isn't generic enough
> to apply to other bus types. The two interact in exactly the way you'd
> expect, ie they don't. If you use both, then you need to handle both.

And as an example of why the USB authorisation feature isn't
sufficient - the interface configuration isn't picked until after
you've authorised the device, which means you can't necessarily tell
the difference between a keyboard and an ethernet adapter until after
you've authorised it. That defeats the object, but it can't be changed
without breaking the wireless USB case.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.