Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Mon, 25 Apr 2016 09:37:13 -0700
From: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
To: "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
	Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>,
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@...el.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Stephen Smalley <sds@...ho.nsa.gov>,
	Kefeng Wang <wangkefeng.wang@...wei.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
	Matt Fleming <matt@...eblueprint.co.uk>,
	Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@....com>,
	Alexander Kuleshov <kuleshovmail@...il.com>,
	Alexander Popov <alpopov@...ecurity.com>,
	Joerg Roedel <jroedel@...e.de>,
	Dave Young <dyoung@...hat.com>,
	Baoquan He <bhe@...hat.com>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
	Mark Salter <msalter@...hat.com>,
	Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>
Cc: x86@...nel.org,
	linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-doc@...r.kernel.org,
	gthelen@...gle.com,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: [PATCH 4/4] x86, boot: Memory hotplug support for KASLR memory randomization

Add a new option (CONFIG_RANDOMIZE_MEMORY_PHYSICAL_PADDING) to define
the padding used for the physical memory mapping section when KASLR
memory is enabled. It ensures there is enough virtual address space when
CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG is used. The default value is 10 terabytes. If
CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG is not used, no space is reserved increasing the
entropy available.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
---
Based on next-20160422
---
 arch/x86/Kconfig    | 15 +++++++++++++++
 arch/x86/mm/kaslr.c | 14 ++++++++++++--
 2 files changed, 27 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/Kconfig b/arch/x86/Kconfig
index 7c786d4..cc01b69 100644
--- a/arch/x86/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/x86/Kconfig
@@ -2018,6 +2018,21 @@ config RANDOMIZE_MEMORY
 
 	   If unsure, say N.
 
+config RANDOMIZE_MEMORY_PHYSICAL_PADDING
+	hex "Physical memory mapping padding" if EXPERT
+	depends on RANDOMIZE_MEMORY
+	default "0xa" if MEMORY_HOTPLUG
+	default "0x0"
+	range 0x1 0x40 if MEMORY_HOTPLUG
+	range 0x0 0x40
+	---help---
+	   Define the padding in terabyte added to the existing physical memory
+	   size during kernel memory randomization. It is useful for memory
+	   hotplug support but reduces the entropy available for address
+	   randomization.
+
+	   If unsure, leave at the default value.
+
 config HOTPLUG_CPU
 	bool "Support for hot-pluggable CPUs"
 	depends on SMP
diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/kaslr.c b/arch/x86/mm/kaslr.c
index 3b330a9..ef3dc19 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/kaslr.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/kaslr.c
@@ -68,15 +68,25 @@ void __init kernel_randomize_memory(void)
 {
 	size_t i;
 	unsigned long addr = memory_rand_start;
-	unsigned long padding, rand, mem_tb;
+	unsigned long padding, rand, mem_tb, page_offset_padding;
 	struct rnd_state rnd_st;
 	unsigned long remain_padding = memory_rand_end - memory_rand_start;
 
 	if (!kaslr_enabled())
 		return;
 
+	/*
+	 * Update Physical memory mapping to available and
+	 * add padding if needed (especially for memory hotplug support).
+	 */
+	page_offset_padding = CONFIG_RANDOMIZE_MEMORY_PHYSICAL_PADDING;
+
+#ifdef CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG
+	page_offset_padding = max(1UL, page_offset_padding);
+#endif
+
 	BUG_ON(kaslr_regions[0].base != &page_offset_base);
-	mem_tb = ((max_pfn << PAGE_SHIFT) >> TB_SHIFT);
+	mem_tb = ((max_pfn << PAGE_SHIFT) >> TB_SHIFT) + page_offset_padding;
 
 	if (mem_tb < kaslr_regions[0].size_tb)
 		kaslr_regions[0].size_tb = mem_tb;
-- 
2.8.0.rc3.226.g39d4020

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Confused about mailing lists and their use? Read about mailing lists on Wikipedia and check out these guidelines on proper formatting of your messages.