Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu, 7 Dec 2017 16:12:04 +1100
From: "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>
To: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@...ux-m68k.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky.work@...il.com>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
	David Laight <David.Laight@...lab.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	"kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com"
 <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>,
	"Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@...c4.com>,	Theodore Ts'o <tytso@....edu>,
 Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,	Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.ws>,
	"Roberts, William C" <william.c.roberts@...el.com>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,	Jordan Glover <Golden_Miller83@...tonmail.ch>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,	Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
 Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>,	Ian Campbell <ijc@...lion.org.uk>,
	Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Will Deacon <wilal.deacon@....com>,	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Chris Fries <cfries@...gle.com>, Dave Weinstein <olorin@...gle.com>,
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,	Djalal Harouni <tixxdz@...il.com>,
	Radim Krcm√°r <rkrcmar@...hat.com>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Network Development <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
	David Miller <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Stephen Rothwell <sfr@...b.auug.org.au>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>,
	Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>,
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH V11 4/5] vsprintf: add printk specifier %px

On Wed, Dec 06, 2017 at 09:32:14AM +0100, Geert Uytterhoeven wrote:
> Hi Linus,
> 
> On Wed, Dec 6, 2017 at 2:59 AM, Linus Torvalds
> <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org> wrote:
> > On Tue, Dec 5, 2017 at 5:36 PM, Sergey Senozhatsky
> > <sergey.senozhatsky.work@...il.com> wrote:
> >> I see some %p-s being used in _supposedly_ important output,
> >> like arch/x86/mm/fault.c
> >>
> >> show_fault_oops(struct pt_regs *regs, unsigned long error_code,
> >>                 unsigned long address)
> >> ...
> >>         printk(KERN_CONT " at %p\n", (void *) address);
> >>         printk(KERN_ALERT "IP: %pS\n", (void *)regs->ip);
> >
> > So %pS isn't %p, and shows the symbolic name.
> 
> If the symbolic name is available.
> Else it prints the non-hashed pointer value (FTR).

I'm trying to fix this :)

[RFC 0/3] kallsyms: don't leak address when printing symbol

thanks,
Tobin.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Powered by Openwall GNU/*/Linux - Powered by OpenVZ