Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Thu, 7 Dec 2017 16:17:11 +1100
From: "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>
To: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky.work@...il.com>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@...ux-m68k.org>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
	David Laight <David.Laight@...lab.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	"kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com"
 <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>,
	"Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@...c4.com>,	Theodore Ts'o <tytso@....edu>,
 Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,	Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.ws>,
	"Roberts, William C" <william.c.roberts@...el.com>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,	Jordan Glover <Golden_Miller83@...tonmail.ch>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,	Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
 Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>,	Ian Campbell <ijc@...lion.org.uk>,
	Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Will Deacon <wilal.deacon@....com>,	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Chris Fries <cfries@...gle.com>, Dave Weinstein <olorin@...gle.com>,
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,	Djalal Harouni <tixxdz@...il.com>,
	Radim Krcm√°r <rkrcmar@...hat.com>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
	Network Development <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
	David Miller <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Stephen Rothwell <sfr@...b.auug.org.au>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>,
	Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>,
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH V11 4/5] vsprintf: add printk specifier %px

On Wed, Dec 06, 2017 at 05:45:37PM +0900, Sergey Senozhatsky wrote:
> On (12/06/17 09:32), Geert Uytterhoeven wrote:
> [..]
> > >> show_fault_oops(struct pt_regs *regs, unsigned long error_code,
> > >>                 unsigned long address)
> > >> ...
> > >>         printk(KERN_CONT " at %p\n", (void *) address);
> > >>         printk(KERN_ALERT "IP: %pS\n", (void *)regs->ip);
> > >
> > > So %pS isn't %p, and shows the symbolic name.
> > 
> > If the symbolic name is available.
> > Else it prints the non-hashed pointer value (FTR).


Well, this

[RFC 0/3] kallsyms: don't leak address when printing symbol

_trys_ to fix that

> hm, indeed. and !CONFIG_KALLSYMS config turns %pS/%ps
> into special_hex_number().

But totally misses this :(

"<no-sym>" would be better returned when !CONFIG_KALLSYMS, right?

thanks,
Tobin.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Powered by Openwall GNU/*/Linux - Powered by OpenVZ